Business School

Business School at Columbia University

Private university ยท New York, New York

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA

Columbia University is a private university with graduate business programs in New York, New York. Those programs run through the Columbia Business School. The institution is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 26,009 students, alongside 8,973 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals. That puts it among the 7 of 19 schools in MBA Lab's New York directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

New York has 5 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Columbia University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Columbia University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Columbia Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside New York first. With 5 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionColumbia University
Business schoolColumbia Business School
Controlprivate
LocationNew York, New York
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA
Graduate enrollment26,009
Undergraduate enrollment8,973
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Columbia University

Details below come from Columbia University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA (EMBA-NY)

Executive MBA
$263,400
  • Length 20 months
  • Credits 60
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Every other weekend
What that price isProgram total for May 2026 (Saturday) or August 2026 (Friday/Saturday) entry
Price includesBooks and meals on all class days, conference center accommodations during two five-day residencies at the start of the first two semesters, and residence/meals during a week-long international seminar in year two
On lengthFive terms; Saturday-only or Friday/Saturday tracks in year one, then a mix of Friday-only and Saturday-only electives in year two
Class scheduleAbout every other Friday and Saturday
Residencies and travelTwo five-day residencies plus a week-long international seminar in year two

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $182,930 Median of 449 graduates working one year after completion +110% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $251,708 Median of 753 graduates working four years after completion +38% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $65,229 Median across 389 borrowers entering repayment About 0.36x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 18 schools in MBA Lab's New York business schools directory that report a figure, Columbia University ranks 2nd by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Columbia University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Columbia University's context.

Compare with other schools in New York

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Columbia University This page New York Yes MBA, Executive MBA $182,930
Baruch College New York (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $109,868
Fordham University New York (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,316
New York University New York (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $184,729
Pace University New York (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Cornell University Ithaca Yes MBA, Executive MBA $179,274
Syracuse University Syracuse Yes MBA, Online MBA $122,790
University of Rochester Rochester Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $92,758
Binghamton University Binghamton Yes MBA $74,554
Clarkson University Potsdam Yes MBA, Online MBA $74,907
Hofstra University Hempstead Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $106,517
Marist College Poughkeepsie Yes MBA, Online MBA $100,715
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Troy Yes MBA $87,386

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Columbia University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA at Columbia University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA (EMBA-NY) at Columbia University cost?

Columbia University lists $263,400 for the Executive MBA (EMBA-NY). Program total for May 2026 (Saturday) or August 2026 (Friday/Saturday) entry. Price includes: Books and meals on all class days, conference center accommodations during two five-day residencies at the start of the first two semesters, and residence/meals during a week-long international seminar in year two. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA (EMBA-NY) at Columbia University, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA (EMBA-NY) takes about 20 months, requires 60 credits, and is delivered in person. Five terms; Saturday-only or Friday/Saturday tracks in year one, then a mix of Friday-only and Saturday-only electives in year two. Classes meet: About every other Friday and Saturday

What do graduates of Columbia University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $182,930 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Columbia University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $251,708. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Columbia University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $65,229 for business master's graduates at Columbia University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.36x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Columbia University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Columbia University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Columbia University a public or private institution?

Columbia University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in New York, New York. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Columbia University with other schools in New York?

MBA Lab lists 19 schools in its New York business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →