Business School

Business School at Hampton University

Private university ยท Hampton, Virginia

  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Hampton University is a private university with graduate business programs in Hampton, Virginia. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 516 students, alongside 3,727 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Hampton in this directory - the other 17 business school options in Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Hampton University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Hampton University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionHampton University
Controlprivate
LocationHampton, Virginia
Campus settingLarge suburb
Carnegie classDoctoral university
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment516
Undergraduate enrollment3,727
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Hampton University

Details below come from Hampton University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

HamptonU Global 1-Year MBA

Online MBA
$695 per credit
  • Length 12 months
  • Credits 30
  • Delivery Online
  • Meets Two courses per eight-week term
What that price isHamptonU Global's general graduate per-credit rate - the MBA page does not list a separate MBA-specific rate
Estimated degree costAbout $20,850 at the resident rate for all 30 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
StartsSummer (May), Fall Session I (August), Fall Session II (October), Spring Session I (January), Spring Session II (March)

4 concentrations

  • Business Analytics
  • Marketing
  • Supply Chain Management
  • General MBA

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $80,981 Median of 31 graduates working one year after completion -7% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $105,659 Median of 36 graduates working four years after completion +30% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $27,777 Median across 29 borrowers entering repayment About 0.34x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 15 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia business schools directory that report a figure, Hampton University ranks 10th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Hampton University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Hampton University's context.

Compare with other schools in Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Hampton University This page Hampton MBA, Online MBA $80,981
Liberty University Lynchburg MBA, Online MBA $71,483
University of Virginia Charlottesville Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $189,494
Virginia Tech Blacksburg Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,423
William & Mary Williamsburg Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,269
George Mason University Fairfax Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,723
James Madison University Harrisonburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $110,442
Longwood University Farmville Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Marymount University Arlington MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,027

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Hampton University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Hampton University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the HamptonU Global 1-Year MBA at Hampton University cost?

Hampton University lists $695 per credit for the HamptonU Global 1-Year MBA. HamptonU Global's general graduate per-credit rate - the MBA page does not list a separate MBA-specific rate. Across all 30 credits that is roughly $20,850 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the HamptonU Global 1-Year MBA at Hampton University, and when does it meet?

The HamptonU Global 1-Year MBA takes about 12 months, requires 30 credits, and is delivered fully online.

What do graduates of Hampton University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $80,981 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Hampton University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $105,659. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Hampton University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $27,777 for business master's graduates at Hampton University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.34x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Hampton University a public or private institution?

Hampton University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Hampton, Virginia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Hampton University with other schools in Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 18 schools in its Virginia business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →