Business School

Business School at Northern State University

Public university ยท Aberdeen, South Dakota

Northern State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Aberdeen, South Dakota. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 539 students, alongside 1,273 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

It is the only school in Aberdeen in this directory - the other 1 business school option in South Dakota is elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Northern State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Northern State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.

At a glance

InstitutionNorthern State University
Controlpublic
LocationAberdeen, South Dakota
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (smaller programs)
MBA formats listed
Graduate enrollment539
Undergraduate enrollment1,273
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Compare with other schools in South Dakota

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Northern State University This page Aberdeen Not reported
University of South Dakota Vermillion Yes MBA, Online MBA $76,293

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Northern State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Northern State University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

Is Northern State University a public or private institution?

Northern State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Aberdeen, South Dakota. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Northern State University with other schools in South Dakota?

MBA Lab lists 2 schools in its South Dakota business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →