Business School

Business School at Southern Utah University

Public university ยท Cedar City, Utah

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Southern Utah University is a public university with graduate business programs in Cedar City, Utah. Those programs run through the School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,318 students, alongside 9,289 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Cedar City in this directory - the other 5 business school options in Utah are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Southern Utah University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Southern Utah University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionSouthern Utah University
Business schoolSchool of Business
Controlpublic
LocationCedar City, Utah
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (larger programs)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment2,318
Undergraduate enrollment9,289
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Southern Utah University

Details below come from Southern Utah University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA - General Emphasis

Online MBA
$17,193
  • Length 12 months
  • Credits 33
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$521 per credit hour ($1,512 per course), totaling $17,193
On lengthStudents without an AACSB-accredited business undergraduate degree may need an additional 3-credit Foundations course
Class schedule7-week courses, multiple start dates a year

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $76,721 Median of 30 graduates working one year after completion -12% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $96,757 Median of 30 graduates working four years after completion +26% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path

Among the 5 schools in MBA Lab's Utah business schools directory that report a figure, Southern Utah University ranks 5th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Southern Utah University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Southern Utah University's context.

Compare with other schools in Utah

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Southern Utah University This page Cedar City Yes MBA, Online MBA $76,721
Brigham Young University Provo Yes MBA, Executive MBA $121,135
University of Utah Salt Lake City Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,581
Utah State University Logan Yes MBA, Online MBA $93,571
Utah Valley University Orem Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Weber State University Ogden Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $93,293

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Southern Utah University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Southern Utah University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA - General Emphasis at Southern Utah University cost?

Southern Utah University lists $17,193 for the MBA - General Emphasis. $521 per credit hour ($1,512 per course), totaling $17,193. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA - General Emphasis at Southern Utah University, and when does it meet?

The MBA - General Emphasis takes about 12 months, requires 33 credits, and is delivered fully online. Students without an AACSB-accredited business undergraduate degree may need an additional 3-credit Foundations course. Classes meet: 7-week courses, multiple start dates a year

What do graduates of Southern Utah University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $76,721 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Southern Utah University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $96,757. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

Is Southern Utah University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Southern Utah University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Southern Utah University a public or private institution?

Southern Utah University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Cedar City, Utah. It is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

How do I compare Southern Utah University with other schools in Utah?

MBA Lab lists 6 schools in its Utah business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →