Business School

Business School at Stanford University

Private university ยท Stanford, California

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

Stanford University is a private university with graduate business programs in Stanford, California. Those programs run through the Stanford Graduate School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 10,721 students, alongside 7,554 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Stanford in this directory - the other 15 business school options in California are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Stanford University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Stanford University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Stanford Graduate School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionStanford University
Business schoolStanford Graduate School of Business
Controlprivate
LocationStanford, California
Campus settingLarge suburb
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment10,721
Undergraduate enrollment7,554
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Stanford University

Details below come from Stanford University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery In person
On lengthFull-time, two-year residential program. Tuition for the entering 2026-2027 class is $89,187 per year, billed annually rather than per credit; total cost of attendance including living expenses is about $140,940/year for a single student.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $193,776 Median of 105 graduates working one year after completion +122% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $261,816 Median of 212 graduates working four years after completion +35% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $57,458 Median across 70 borrowers entering repayment About 0.30x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's California business schools directory that report a figure, Stanford University ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Stanford University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Stanford University's context.

Compare with other schools in California

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Stanford University This page Stanford Yes MBA $193,776
Pepperdine University Malibu Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,068
University of California, Berkeley Berkeley Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
University of California, Irvine Irvine Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,774
University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $172,128
University of California, San Diego San Diego Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,870
University of Southern California Los Angeles Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $132,668
California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo Yes MBA $66,290
Chapman University Orange Yes MBA $91,418

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Stanford University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Stanford University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How long is the MBA at Stanford University, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered in person. Full-time, two-year residential program. Tuition for the entering 2026-2027 class is $89,187 per year, billed annually rather than per credit; total cost of attendance including living expenses is about $140,940/year for a single student.

What do graduates of Stanford University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $193,776 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Stanford University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $261,816. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Stanford University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $57,458 for business master's graduates at Stanford University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.30x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Stanford University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Stanford University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Stanford University a public or private institution?

Stanford University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Stanford, California. It is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

How do I compare Stanford University with other schools in California?

MBA Lab lists 16 schools in its California business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →