Business School

Business School at University of Illinois Chicago

Public university ยท Chicago, Illinois

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

University of Illinois Chicago is a public university with graduate business programs in Chicago, Illinois. Those programs run through the College of Business Administration. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 11,411 students, alongside 22,170 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 5 of 10 schools in MBA Lab's Illinois directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Chicago has 4 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask University of Illinois Chicago

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Illinois Chicago may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business Administration may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Chicago first. With 4 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Illinois Chicago
Business schoolCollege of Business Administration
Controlpublic
LocationChicago, Illinois
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment11,411
Undergraduate enrollment22,170
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Illinois Chicago

Details below come from University of Illinois Chicago's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Flex MBA

Part-Time MBA
  • Length 18 months
  • Credits 42
  • Delivery Hybrid
  • Meets Eight-week sessions
On lengthAs few as 18 months or as long as five years. Tuition varies by residency and course load per semester - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleDay, night, or Saturday classes, delivered in eight-week sessions

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $88,048 Median of 97 graduates working one year after completion +1% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $118,750 Median of 89 graduates working four years after completion +35% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $51,919 Median across 59 borrowers entering repayment About 0.59x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Illinois business schools directory that report a figure, University of Illinois Chicago ranks 6th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Illinois Chicago's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Illinois Chicago's context.

Compare with other schools in Illinois

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Illinois Chicago This page Chicago Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $88,048
DePaul University Chicago (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $101,710
Loyola University Chicago Chicago (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $101,612
University of Chicago Chicago (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $194,606
Northwestern University Evanston Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $224,402
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Champaign Yes MBA, Online MBA $118,799
Bradley University Peoria Yes MBA Not reported
Illinois State University Normal Yes MBA $85,715
Northern Illinois University DeKalb Yes MBA, Executive MBA $85,140
Southern Illinois University Carbondale Carbondale Yes MBA, Online MBA $73,272

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Illinois Chicago offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at University of Illinois Chicago, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How long is the Flex MBA at University of Illinois Chicago, and when does it meet?

The Flex MBA takes about 18 months, requires 42 credits, and is delivered in a hybrid format. As few as 18 months or as long as five years. Tuition varies by residency and course load per semester - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Day, night, or Saturday classes, delivered in eight-week sessions

What do graduates of University of Illinois Chicago's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $88,048 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Illinois Chicago who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $118,750. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Illinois Chicago?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $51,919 for business master's graduates at University of Illinois Chicago. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.59x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Illinois Chicago's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Illinois Chicago appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Illinois Chicago a public or private institution?

University of Illinois Chicago is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Chicago, Illinois. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare University of Illinois Chicago with other schools in Illinois?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Illinois business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →