Business School

Business School at University of Montana

Public university ยท Missoula, Montana

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

University of Montana is a public university with graduate business programs in Missoula, Montana. Those programs run through the College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,920 students, alongside 7,488 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Missoula in this directory - the other 1 business school option in Montana is elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of Montana

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Montana may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Montana
Business schoolCollege of Business
Controlpublic
LocationMissoula, Montana
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment2,920
Undergraduate enrollment7,488
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Montana

Details below come from University of Montana's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
$328-$1,125 per credit
  • Length 12 months
  • Credits 32
  • Delivery In person
What that price is$328/credit resident (same for on-campus and online), $1,125/credit non-resident on-campus (a discounted $701/credit non-resident rate applies to the online track instead), plus a $157/credit Extended Graduate Fee
Estimated degree costAbout $10,496 at the resident rate for all 32 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On length23 core credits plus 9 elective credits; additional foundational courses may be required depending on background. An accelerated one-year track is available for business-degree holders; part-time options run two to five years. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass (rate tables are only published as downloadable spreadsheets).

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $70,886 Median of 56 graduates working one year after completion -19% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $91,218 Median of 65 graduates working four years after completion +29% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $23,411 Median across 39 borrowers entering repayment About 0.33x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Montana's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Montana's context.

Compare with other schools in Montana

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Montana This page Missoula Yes MBA $70,886
Montana State University Billings Billings Yes Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Montana offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at University of Montana. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How much does the MBA at University of Montana cost?

University of Montana lists $328-$1,125 per credit for the MBA. $328/credit resident (same for on-campus and online), $1,125/credit non-resident on-campus (a discounted $701/credit non-resident rate applies to the online track instead), plus a $157/credit Extended Graduate Fee. Across all 32 credits that is roughly $10,496 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at University of Montana, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 12 months, requires 32 credits, and is delivered in person. 23 core credits plus 9 elective credits; additional foundational courses may be required depending on background. An accelerated one-year track is available for business-degree holders; part-time options run two to five years. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass (rate tables are only published as downloadable spreadsheets).

What do graduates of University of Montana's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $70,886 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Montana who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $91,218. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Montana?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $23,411 for business master's graduates at University of Montana. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.33x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Montana's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Montana appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Montana a public or private institution?

University of Montana is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Missoula, Montana. It is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

How do I compare University of Montana with other schools in Montana?

MBA Lab lists 2 schools in its Montana business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →