Business School

Business School at West Virginia University

Public university ยท Morgantown, West Virginia

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

West Virginia University is a public university with graduate business programs in Morgantown, West Virginia. Those programs run through the Chambers College of Business and Economics. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 2 of the 4 schools in MBA Lab's West Virginia directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 5,437 students, alongside 17,385 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Morgantown in this directory - the other 3 business school options in West Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask West Virginia University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, West Virginia University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Chambers College of Business and Economics may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionWest Virginia University
Business schoolChambers College of Business and Economics
Controlpublic
LocationMorgantown, West Virginia
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment5,437
Undergraduate enrollment17,385
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at West Virginia University

Details below come from West Virginia University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$795 per credit
  • Length 12 months
  • Credits 30
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$795 per credit hour (university + college tuition + online learning fee combined) - distinct from WVU's separate, pricier Healthcare MBA track at $1,063/credit
Estimated degree costAbout $23,850 at the resident rate for all 30 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthThe on-campus MBA is 36 credits completed in one year, for comparison. A $100/credit discount applies for current and former service members. Base tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleCase studies and simulations

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $71,286 Median of 53 graduates working one year after completion -18% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $98,560 Median of 52 graduates working four years after completion +38% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $30,750 Median across 45 borrowers entering repayment About 0.43x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check West Virginia University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with West Virginia University's context.

Compare with other schools in West Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
West Virginia University This page Morgantown Yes MBA, Online MBA $71,286
Marshall University Huntington Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
University of Charleston Charleston MBA, Online MBA Not reported
West Virginia Wesleyan College Buckhannon MBA, Executive MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does West Virginia University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at West Virginia University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at West Virginia University cost?

West Virginia University lists $795 per credit for the Online MBA. $795 per credit hour (university + college tuition + online learning fee combined) - distinct from WVU's separate, pricier Healthcare MBA track at $1,063/credit. Across all 30 credits that is roughly $23,850 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at West Virginia University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 12 months, requires 30 credits, and is delivered fully online. The on-campus MBA is 36 credits completed in one year, for comparison. A $100/credit discount applies for current and former service members. Base tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Case studies and simulations

What do graduates of West Virginia University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $71,286 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at West Virginia University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $98,560. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at West Virginia University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $30,750 for business master's graduates at West Virginia University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.43x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is West Virginia University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - West Virginia University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is West Virginia University a public or private institution?

West Virginia University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Morgantown, West Virginia. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare West Virginia University with other schools in West Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 4 schools in its West Virginia business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →