MBA Program

MBA Program at Jackson State University

Public university ยท Jackson, Mississippi

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Jackson State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Jackson, Mississippi. Those programs run through the College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 1,676 students, alongside 4,600 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Jackson has 2 schools in MBA Lab's MBA programs directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Jackson State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Jackson State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Jackson first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionJackson State University
Business schoolCollege of Business
Controlpublic
LocationJackson, Mississippi
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment1,676
Undergraduate enrollment4,600
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Jackson State University

Details below come from Jackson State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA Online

Online MBA
$512 per credit
  • Length 12 months
  • Credits 30
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit hour (JSUOnline general graduate rate)
Estimated degree costAbout $15,360 at the resident rate for all 30 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthFast-track; delivered over five eight-week terms plus an inter-session. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $52,452 Median of 20 graduates working one year after completion -40% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $76,656 Median of 28 graduates working four years after completion +46% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $39,564 Median across 26 borrowers entering repayment About 0.75x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 4 schools in MBA Lab's Mississippi MBA programs directory that report a figure, Jackson State University ranks 4th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Jackson State University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Jackson State University's context.

Compare with other schools in Mississippi

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Jackson State University This page Jackson Yes MBA, Online MBA $52,452
Millsaps College Jackson (same city) Yes MBA Not reported
Mississippi State University Starkville Yes MBA, Online MBA $96,306
University of Mississippi Oxford Yes MBA, Online MBA $88,581
University of Southern Mississippi Hattiesburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $71,153

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Jackson State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Jackson State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA Online at Jackson State University cost?

Jackson State University lists $512 per credit for the MBA Online. Per credit hour (JSUOnline general graduate rate). Across all 30 credits that is roughly $15,360 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA Online at Jackson State University, and when does it meet?

The MBA Online takes about 12 months, requires 30 credits, and is delivered fully online. Fast-track; delivered over five eight-week terms plus an inter-session. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

What do graduates of Jackson State University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $52,452 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Jackson State University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $76,656. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Jackson State University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $39,564 for business master's graduates at Jackson State University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.75x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Jackson State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Jackson State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Jackson State University a public or private institution?

Jackson State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Jackson, Mississippi. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Jackson State University with other schools in Mississippi?

MBA Lab lists 5 schools in its Mississippi MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →