MBA Program

MBA Program at University of Alabama at Birmingham

Public university ยท Birmingham, Alabama

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

University of Alabama at Birmingham is a public university with graduate business programs in Birmingham, Alabama. Those programs run through the Collat School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 8,946 students, alongside 11,635 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 3 of 5 schools in MBA Lab's Alabama directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Birmingham has 2 schools in MBA Lab's MBA programs directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask University of Alabama at Birmingham

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Alabama at Birmingham may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Collat School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Birmingham first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
Business schoolCollat School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationBirmingham, Alabama
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment8,946
Undergraduate enrollment11,635
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Alabama at Birmingham

Details below come from University of Alabama at Birmingham's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$39,168
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit hour, totaling $39,168 without a concentration or $42,432 with one
On lengthAs few as 12 months full-time or 24 months part-time. An 'Enhanced Online' track guarantees a set progression path for a tuition premium.
Class scheduleFall, spring, or summer starts (summer for domestic students only)

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $87,219 Median of 163 graduates working one year after completion +0% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $108,063 Median of 144 graduates working four years after completion +24% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $34,459 Median across 110 borrowers entering repayment About 0.40x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 4 schools in MBA Lab's Alabama MBA programs directory that report a figure, University of Alabama at Birmingham ranks 2nd by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Alabama at Birmingham's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Alabama at Birmingham's context.

Compare with other schools in Alabama

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Alabama at Birmingham This page Birmingham Yes MBA, Online MBA $87,219
Samford University Birmingham (same city) Yes MBA $61,019
Auburn University Auburn Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $143,121
University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Yes MBA, Executive MBA $83,078
University of South Alabama Mobile Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Alabama at Birmingham offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at University of Alabama at Birmingham, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at University of Alabama at Birmingham cost?

University of Alabama at Birmingham lists $39,168 for the Online MBA. Per credit hour, totaling $39,168 without a concentration or $42,432 with one. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at University of Alabama at Birmingham, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 24 months, requires 36 credits, and is delivered fully online. As few as 12 months full-time or 24 months part-time. An 'Enhanced Online' track guarantees a set progression path for a tuition premium. Classes meet: Fall, spring, or summer starts (summer for domestic students only)

What do graduates of University of Alabama at Birmingham's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $87,219 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Alabama at Birmingham who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $108,063. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Alabama at Birmingham?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $34,459 for business master's graduates at University of Alabama at Birmingham. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.40x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Alabama at Birmingham's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Alabama at Birmingham appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Alabama at Birmingham a public or private institution?

University of Alabama at Birmingham is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Birmingham, Alabama. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare University of Alabama at Birmingham with other schools in Alabama?

MBA Lab lists 5 schools in its Alabama MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →