Online MBA

Online MBA at University of South Alabama

Public university ยท Mobile, Alabama

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

University of South Alabama is a public university with graduate business programs in Mobile, Alabama. Those programs run through the Mitchell College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 4,762 students, alongside 8,879 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 3 of 5 schools in MBA Lab's Alabama directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Mobile in this directory - the other 2 online MBA options in Alabama are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of South Alabama

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of South Alabama may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Mitchell College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of South Alabama
Business schoolMitchell College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationMobile, Alabama
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment4,762
Undergraduate enrollment8,879
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of South Alabama

Details below come from University of South Alabama's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Online MBA
$18,150
  • Length 18 months
  • Credits 30
  • Delivery Online
What that price isEstimated tuition for all 30 credit hours, not including university fees, plus a separate $100-per-credit-hour program fee
On lengthStructured, lockstep format - 10 courses; as fast as one year

Compare with other schools in Alabama

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of South Alabama This page Mobile Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Auburn University Auburn Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $143,121
University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham Yes MBA, Online MBA $87,219

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of South Alabama offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at University of South Alabama, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at University of South Alabama cost?

University of South Alabama lists $18,150 for the MBA. Estimated tuition for all 30 credit hours, not including university fees, plus a separate $100-per-credit-hour program fee. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at University of South Alabama, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 18 months, requires 30 credits, and is delivered fully online. Structured, lockstep format - 10 courses; as fast as one year.

Is University of South Alabama's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of South Alabama appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of South Alabama a public or private institution?

University of South Alabama is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Mobile, Alabama. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare University of South Alabama with other schools in Alabama?

MBA Lab lists 3 schools in its Alabama online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →