Online MBA

Online MBA at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Public university ยท Edinburg, Texas

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley is a public university with graduate business programs in Edinburg, Texas. Those programs run through the Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 24 of the 25 schools in MBA Lab's Texas directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 5,207 students, alongside 28,666 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Edinburg in this directory - the other 16 online MBA options in Texas are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Business schoolVackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship
Controlpublic
LocationEdinburg, Texas
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment5,207
Undergraduate enrollment28,666
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Details below come from University of Texas Rio Grande Valley's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA - Accelerated Online

Online MBA
$472 per credit
  • Length 12 months
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$472.22 per credit hour ($1,416.66 per 3-credit course)
Estimated degree costAbout $16,992 at the resident rate for all 36 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
Class schedule7-week modules on a rotating basis; students may start in any module

Compare with other schools in Texas

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley This page Edinburg Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Rice University Houston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $150,476
Southern Methodist University Dallas Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $135,130
University of Texas at Dallas Richardson Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $113,550
Abilene Christian University Abilene Yes MBA, Online MBA $81,656
Baylor University Waco Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $109,356
Dallas Baptist University Dallas MBA, Online MBA $67,492
Lamar University Beaumont Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,018
Sam Houston State University Huntsville Yes MBA, Online MBA $88,636

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Texas Rio Grande Valley offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA - Accelerated Online at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley cost?

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley lists $472 per credit for the MBA - Accelerated Online. $472.22 per credit hour ($1,416.66 per 3-credit course). Across all 36 credits that is roughly $16,992 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA - Accelerated Online at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, and when does it meet?

The MBA - Accelerated Online takes about 12 months, requires 36 credits, and is delivered fully online. Classes meet: 7-week modules on a rotating basis; students may start in any module

Is University of Texas Rio Grande Valley's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Texas Rio Grande Valley appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Texas Rio Grande Valley a public or private institution?

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Edinburg, Texas. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare University of Texas Rio Grande Valley with other schools in Texas?

MBA Lab lists 17 schools in its Texas online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →