Online MBA

Online MBA at West Texas A&M University

Public university ยท Canyon, Texas

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

West Texas A&M University is a public university with graduate business programs in Canyon, Texas. Those programs run through the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 24 of the 25 schools in MBA Lab's Texas directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,119 students, alongside 6,917 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Canyon in this directory - the other 16 online MBA options in Texas are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask West Texas A&M University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, West Texas A&M University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionWest Texas A&M University
Business schoolPaul and Virginia Engler College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationCanyon, Texas
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (larger programs)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment2,119
Undergraduate enrollment6,917
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at West Texas A&M University

Details below come from West Texas A&M University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Online MBA
$500 per credit
  • Credits 31
  • Delivery Online
What that price isApproximately $500 per credit hour per WTAMU's own program page; the exact rate varies by residency band (in-state, border-state, out-of-state, international) per their tuition calculator
Estimated degree costAbout $15,500 at the resident rate for all 31 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On length31-40 hours depending on leveling courses needed; self-paced across four terms a year. Most courses are 3 credit hours; the capstone is 1.
Class scheduleAsynchronous

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 4 years out $124,819 Median of 301 graduates working four years after completion

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check West Texas A&M University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with West Texas A&M University's context.

Compare with other schools in Texas

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
West Texas A&M University This page Canyon Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Rice University Houston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $150,476
Southern Methodist University Dallas Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $135,130
University of Texas at Dallas Richardson Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $113,550
Abilene Christian University Abilene Yes MBA, Online MBA $81,656
Baylor University Waco Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $109,356
Dallas Baptist University Dallas MBA, Online MBA $67,492
Lamar University Beaumont Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,018
Sam Houston State University Huntsville Yes MBA, Online MBA $88,636

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does West Texas A&M University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at West Texas A&M University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at West Texas A&M University cost?

West Texas A&M University lists $500 per credit for the MBA. Approximately $500 per credit hour per WTAMU's own program page; the exact rate varies by residency band (in-state, border-state, out-of-state, international) per their tuition calculator. Across all 31 credits that is roughly $15,500 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at West Texas A&M University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 31 credits and is delivered fully online. 31-40 hours depending on leveling courses needed; self-paced across four terms a year. Most courses are 3 credit hours; the capstone is 1. Classes meet: Asynchronous

Is West Texas A&M University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - West Texas A&M University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is West Texas A&M University a public or private institution?

West Texas A&M University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Canyon, Texas. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare West Texas A&M University with other schools in Texas?

MBA Lab lists 17 schools in its Texas online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →