Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA at Middle Tennessee State University

Public university ยท Murfreesboro, Tennessee

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Middle Tennessee State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. Those programs run through the Jones College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,446 students, alongside 16,301 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 5 of 9 schools in MBA Lab's Tennessee directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Murfreesboro in this directory - the other 4 part-time MBA options in Tennessee are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Middle Tennessee State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Middle Tennessee State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Jones College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionMiddle Tennessee State University
Business schoolJones College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationMurfreesboro, Tennessee
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment2,446
Undergraduate enrollment16,301
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Middle Tennessee State University

Details below come from Middle Tennessee State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Part-Time MBA
$736-$1,790 per credit
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery Online or in person
What that price is$736/credit in-state online, $1,790/credit out-of-state online (2025-26); total credit hours range 28-49 depending on prerequisites and concentration
On lengthAbout two years without a concentration; about 2.5 years (five full-time semesters) with one. Per-hour tuition drops for students taking 11+ credits in fall/spring; summer is full charge. Exact rate not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleSaturday, evening, and online course options

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $76,031 Median of 94 graduates working one year after completion -13% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $99,846 Median of 98 graduates working four years after completion +31% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $27,500 Median across 59 borrowers entering repayment About 0.36x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 4 schools in MBA Lab's Tennessee part-time MBA programs directory that report a figure, Middle Tennessee State University ranks 3rd by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Middle Tennessee State University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Middle Tennessee State University's context.

Compare with other schools in Tennessee

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Middle Tennessee State University This page Murfreesboro Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $76,031
University of Tennessee Knoxville Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $106,707
Belmont University Nashville Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Lipscomb University Nashville Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $69,501
University of Memphis Memphis Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $83,471

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Middle Tennessee State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at Middle Tennessee State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at Middle Tennessee State University cost?

Middle Tennessee State University lists $736-$1,790 per credit for the MBA. $736/credit in-state online, $1,790/credit out-of-state online (2025-26); total credit hours range 28-49 depending on prerequisites and concentration. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Middle Tennessee State University, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered either fully online or in person. About two years without a concentration; about 2.5 years (five full-time semesters) with one. Per-hour tuition drops for students taking 11+ credits in fall/spring; summer is full charge. Exact rate not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Saturday, evening, and online course options

What do graduates of Middle Tennessee State University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $76,031 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Middle Tennessee State University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $99,846. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Middle Tennessee State University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $27,500 for business master's graduates at Middle Tennessee State University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.36x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Middle Tennessee State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Middle Tennessee State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Middle Tennessee State University a public or private institution?

Middle Tennessee State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Middle Tennessee State University with other schools in Tennessee?

MBA Lab lists 5 schools in its Tennessee part-time MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →