Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA at Rutgers University

Public university ยท Newark, New Jersey

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Rutgers University is a public university with graduate business programs in Newark, New Jersey. Those programs run through the Rutgers Business School. The institution is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 3,326 students, alongside 7,709 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 1 of 8 schools in MBA Lab's New Jersey directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Newark in this directory - the other 2 part-time MBA options in New Jersey are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Rutgers University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Rutgers University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Rutgers Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionRutgers University
Business schoolRutgers Business School
Controlpublic
LocationNewark, New Jersey
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment3,326
Undergraduate enrollment7,709
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Rutgers University

Details below come from Rutgers University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,363-$2,389 per credit
  • Credits 49
  • Delivery Hybrid
What that price is$1,363 per credit for New Jersey residents, $2,389 for out-of-state (at 11 or fewer credits/term), plus fees. Total credit hours not confirmed - sources disagree between 45 and 49.
Estimated degree costAbout $66,787 at the resident rate for all 49 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthStudents may not take more than 11 credits per semester without special permission. In-state tuition is billed at $15,576 per semester; total program cost depends on pace and residency - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleOn campus or online, at the student's own pace

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
  • Credits 57
  • Delivery Hybrid
  • Meets Alternating weekend days
What that price is$27,901 total cost for Fall 2026 (tuition $16,356 + fees), or $1,363/credit tuition-only; the program runs four semesters but per-semester costs may not be identical across all four, so no full-program total is stated here
On length45 core credits, 12 elective credits. Fall 2026 tuition rates had not yet been announced (expected late July 2026) as of this check.
Class scheduleAlternating weekend days - Saturday one week, Sunday the next - plus a week-in-residence at the start of each semester at The Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick, where students complete about 25% of that semester's coursework
Residencies and travelA week-in-residence at the start of each semester

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $114,572 Median of 618 graduates working one year after completion +31% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $155,535 Median of 586 graduates working four years after completion +36% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $50,681 Median across 403 borrowers entering repayment About 0.44x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Rutgers University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Rutgers University's context.

Compare with other schools in New Jersey

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Rutgers University This page Newark Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,572
Fairleigh Dickinson University Teaneck Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $81,399
Seton Hall University South Orange Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Rutgers University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA and a part-time MBA at Rutgers University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Part-Time MBA at Rutgers University cost?

Rutgers University lists $1,363-$2,389 per credit for the Part-Time MBA. $1,363 per credit for New Jersey residents, $2,389 for out-of-state (at 11 or fewer credits/term), plus fees. Total credit hours not confirmed - sources disagree between 45 and 49. Across all 49 credits that is roughly $66,787 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Part-Time MBA at Rutgers University, and when does it meet?

The Part-Time MBA requires 49 credits and is delivered in a hybrid format. Students may not take more than 11 credits per semester without special permission. In-state tuition is billed at $15,576 per semester; total program cost depends on pace and residency - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: On campus or online, at the student's own pace

How long is the Executive MBA at Rutgers University, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA requires 57 credits and is delivered in a hybrid format. 45 core credits, 12 elective credits. Fall 2026 tuition rates had not yet been announced (expected late July 2026) as of this check. Classes meet: Alternating weekend days - Saturday one week, Sunday the next - plus a week-in-residence at the start of each semester at The Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick, where students complete about 25% of that semester's coursework

What do graduates of Rutgers University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $114,572 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Rutgers University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $155,535. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Rutgers University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $50,681 for business master's graduates at Rutgers University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.44x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Rutgers University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Rutgers University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Rutgers University a public or private institution?

Rutgers University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Newark, New Jersey. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Rutgers University with other schools in New Jersey?

MBA Lab lists 3 schools in its New Jersey part-time MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →