Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA at San Jose State University

Public university ยท San Jose, California

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

San Jose State University is a public university with graduate business programs in San Jose, California. Those programs run through the Lucas College and Graduate School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 9,653 students, alongside 27,601 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 9 of 16 schools in MBA Lab's California directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in San Jose in this directory - the other 8 part-time MBA options in California are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask San Jose State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, San Jose State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Lucas College and Graduate School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionSan Jose State University
Business schoolLucas College and Graduate School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationSan Jose, California
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (larger programs)
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment9,653
Undergraduate enrollment27,601
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at San Jose State University

Details below come from San Jose State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA for Professionals

Part-Time MBA
$44,604
  • Credits 42
What that price is$1,062 per unit beginning Fall 2026 (was $1,011/unit previously), for the 42-unit program, totaling $44,604 - same rate regardless of residency
On lengthPace-flexible (accelerated, full-time, or part-time)

Compare with other schools in California

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
San Jose State University This page San Jose Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Pepperdine University Malibu Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,068
University of California, Berkeley Berkeley Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
University of California, Irvine Irvine Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,774
University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $172,128
University of California, San Diego San Diego Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,870
University of Southern California Los Angeles Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $132,668
Santa Clara University Santa Clara Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $140,238
University of California, Davis Davis Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $120,153

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does San Jose State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at San Jose State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA for Professionals at San Jose State University cost?

San Jose State University lists $44,604 for the MBA for Professionals. $1,062 per unit beginning Fall 2026 (was $1,011/unit previously), for the 42-unit program, totaling $44,604 - same rate regardless of residency. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA for Professionals at San Jose State University, and when does it meet?

The MBA for Professionals requires 42 credits. Pace-flexible (accelerated, full-time, or part-time).

Is San Jose State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - San Jose State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is San Jose State University a public or private institution?

San Jose State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in San Jose, California. It is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

How do I compare San Jose State University with other schools in California?

MBA Lab lists 9 schools in its California part-time MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →