Business School

Business School at Murray State University

Public university ยท Murray, Kentucky

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Murray State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Murray, Kentucky. Those programs run through the The Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,169 students, alongside 6,688 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Murray in this directory - the other 6 business school options in Kentucky are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Murray State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Murray State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the The Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionMurray State University
Business schoolThe Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationMurray, Kentucky
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (larger programs)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment2,169
Undergraduate enrollment6,688
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Murray State University

Details below come from Murray State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$18,180
  • Length 18 months
  • Credits 30
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit hour, totaling $18,180 for the standard 30-credit-hour program (the Healthcare Administration concentration is 33 credits, $19,998)
On lengthAs fast as one year full-time; up to 8 years allowed. Same tuition for Kentucky residents and non-residents - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleSeven-week terms (Fall 1, Fall 2, Spring 1, Spring 2), six-week summer terms

4 concentrations

  • Finance
  • Forensic Accounting
  • Economic Development
  • Business Analytics

Compare with other schools in Kentucky

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Murray State University This page Murray Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
University of Kentucky Lexington Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
University of Louisville Louisville Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Bellarmine University Louisville Yes MBA $68,630
Eastern Kentucky University Richmond Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Northern Kentucky University Highland Heights Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Western Kentucky University Bowling Green Yes MBA, Online MBA $64,836

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Murray State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Murray State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Murray State University cost?

Murray State University lists $18,180 for the Online MBA. Per credit hour, totaling $18,180 for the standard 30-credit-hour program (the Healthcare Administration concentration is 33 credits, $19,998). Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Murray State University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 18 months, requires 30 credits, and is delivered fully online. As fast as one year full-time; up to 8 years allowed. Same tuition for Kentucky residents and non-residents - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Seven-week terms (Fall 1, Fall 2, Spring 1, Spring 2), six-week summer terms

Is Murray State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Murray State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Murray State University a public or private institution?

Murray State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Murray, Kentucky. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Murray State University with other schools in Kentucky?

MBA Lab lists 7 schools in its Kentucky business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →