Business School

Business School at San Diego State University

Public university ยท San Diego, California

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

San Diego State University is a public university with graduate business programs in San Diego, California. Those programs run through the Fowler College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 5,355 students, alongside 35,377 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

San Diego has 2 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask San Diego State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, San Diego State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Fowler College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside San Diego first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionSan Diego State University
Business schoolFowler College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationSan Diego, California
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment5,355
Undergraduate enrollment35,377
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at San Diego State University

Details below come from San Diego State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery In person, evening, or hybrid
On length36-48 units depending on background (10 foundational + 23 professional core + 9-15 electives + 1-3 culminating experience). Full-time about 1.5-2 years, part-time about 2.5 years; a Sports MBA track runs 12-16 months. Tuition (roughly $35,000-$55,000 depending on residency, units, and length) not precisely confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleLate afternoon and evening classes

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $84,731 Median of 80 graduates working one year after completion -3% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $120,682 Median of 93 graduates working four years after completion +42% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $55,840 Median across 66 borrowers entering repayment About 0.66x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's California business schools directory that report a figure, San Diego State University ranks 11th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check San Diego State University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with San Diego State University's context.

Compare with other schools in California

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
San Diego State University This page San Diego Yes MBA $84,731
University of California, San Diego San Diego (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,870
Pepperdine University Malibu Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,068
Stanford University Stanford Yes MBA $193,776
University of California, Berkeley Berkeley Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
University of California, Irvine Irvine Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,774
University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $172,128
University of Southern California Los Angeles Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $132,668
California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo Yes MBA $66,290
Chapman University Orange Yes MBA $91,418

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does San Diego State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at San Diego State University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How long is the MBA at San Diego State University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 36 credits. 36-48 units depending on background (10 foundational + 23 professional core + 9-15 electives + 1-3 culminating experience). Full-time about 1.5-2 years, part-time about 2.5 years; a Sports MBA track runs 12-16 months. Tuition (roughly $35,000-$55,000 depending on residency, units, and length) not precisely confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Late afternoon and evening classes

What do graduates of San Diego State University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $84,731 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at San Diego State University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $120,682. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at San Diego State University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $55,840 for business master's graduates at San Diego State University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.66x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is San Diego State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - San Diego State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is San Diego State University a public or private institution?

San Diego State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in San Diego, California. It is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

How do I compare San Diego State University with other schools in California?

MBA Lab lists 16 schools in its California business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →