Business School

Business School at Tennessee Technological University

Public university ยท Cookeville, Tennessee

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Tennessee Technological University is a public university with graduate business programs in Cookeville, Tennessee. Those programs run through the College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 1,324 students, alongside 8,698 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 5 of 9 schools in MBA Lab's Tennessee directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Cookeville in this directory - the other 8 business school options in Tennessee are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Tennessee Technological University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Tennessee Technological University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionTennessee Technological University
Business schoolCollege of Business
Controlpublic
LocationCookeville, Tennessee
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment1,324
Undergraduate enrollment8,698
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Tennessee Technological University

Details below come from Tennessee Technological University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Online MBA
$27,390
  • Length 18 months
  • Credits 33
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit hour - $830 Tennessee residents, $970 domestic out-of-state ($1,556 international). Total for in-state students is $27,390; out-of-state $32,010; international $51,348.
On lengthAs little as one year; typically about 1.5 years, over 70% finish within two

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $73,759 Median of 90 graduates working one year after completion -15% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $96,302 Median of 93 graduates working four years after completion +31% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $19,050 Median across 45 borrowers entering repayment About 0.26x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 8 schools in MBA Lab's Tennessee business schools directory that report a figure, Tennessee Technological University ranks 6th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Tennessee Technological University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Tennessee Technological University's context.

Compare with other schools in Tennessee

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Tennessee Technological University This page Cookeville Yes MBA, Online MBA $73,759
University of Tennessee Knoxville Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $106,707
Vanderbilt University Nashville Yes MBA, Executive MBA $149,786
Belmont University Nashville Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
East Tennessee State University Johnson City Yes MBA, Online MBA $63,888
Lipscomb University Nashville Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $69,501
Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $76,031
University of Memphis Memphis Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $83,471
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Chattanooga Yes MBA, Online MBA $82,079

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Tennessee Technological University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Tennessee Technological University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at Tennessee Technological University cost?

Tennessee Technological University lists $27,390 for the MBA. Per credit hour - $830 Tennessee residents, $970 domestic out-of-state ($1,556 international). Total for in-state students is $27,390; out-of-state $32,010; international $51,348. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Tennessee Technological University, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 18 months, requires 33 credits, and is delivered fully online. As little as one year; typically about 1.5 years, over 70% finish within two.

What do graduates of Tennessee Technological University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $73,759 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Tennessee Technological University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $96,302. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Tennessee Technological University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $19,050 for business master's graduates at Tennessee Technological University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.26x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Tennessee Technological University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Tennessee Technological University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Tennessee Technological University a public or private institution?

Tennessee Technological University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Cookeville, Tennessee. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Tennessee Technological University with other schools in Tennessee?

MBA Lab lists 9 schools in its Tennessee business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →