Business School

Business School at University of Richmond

Private university ยท Richmond, Virginia

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

University of Richmond is a private university with graduate business programs in Richmond, Virginia. Those programs run through the Robins School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 13 of the 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 667 students, alongside 2,980 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 7 of 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Richmond has 2 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask University of Richmond

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like University of Richmond often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Robins School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Richmond first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Richmond
Business schoolRobins School of Business
Controlprivate
LocationRichmond, Virginia
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classBaccalaureate college (arts & sciences focus)
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment667
Undergraduate enrollment2,980
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Richmond

Details below come from University of Richmond's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

The Richmond MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,732 per credit
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 45
  • Delivery In person
What that price is$1,732 per credit for students entering 2026-27; Richmond locks each cohort's rate at their admit-year price ($1,689 for 2025 admits, $1,640 for 2024)
Estimated degree costAbout $77,940 at the resident rate for all 45 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthBuilt to flex - students may take two or three years instead
Class scheduleEvening courses, on campus

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $99,840 Median of 36 graduates working one year after completion +14% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $131,832 Median of 33 graduates working four years after completion +32% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $22,000 Median across 23 borrowers entering repayment About 0.22x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 15 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia business schools directory that report a figure, University of Richmond ranks 6th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Richmond's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Richmond's context.

Compare with other schools in Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Richmond This page Richmond Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $99,840
Virginia Commonwealth University Richmond (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $100,173
Liberty University Lynchburg MBA, Online MBA $71,483
University of Virginia Charlottesville Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $189,494
Virginia Tech Blacksburg Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,423
William & Mary Williamsburg Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,269
George Mason University Fairfax Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,723
Hampton University Hampton MBA, Online MBA $80,981
James Madison University Harrisonburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $110,442
Longwood University Farmville Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Richmond offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at University of Richmond, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the The Richmond MBA at University of Richmond cost?

University of Richmond lists $1,732 per credit for the The Richmond MBA. $1,732 per credit for students entering 2026-27; Richmond locks each cohort's rate at their admit-year price ($1,689 for 2025 admits, $1,640 for 2024). Across all 45 credits that is roughly $77,940 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the The Richmond MBA at University of Richmond, and when does it meet?

The The Richmond MBA takes about 24 months, requires 45 credits, and is delivered in person. Built to flex - students may take two or three years instead. Classes meet: Evening courses, on campus

What do graduates of University of Richmond's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $99,840 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Richmond who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $131,832. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Richmond?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $22,000 for business master's graduates at University of Richmond. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.22x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Richmond's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Richmond appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Richmond a public or private institution?

University of Richmond is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Richmond, Virginia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare University of Richmond with other schools in Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 18 schools in its Virginia business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →