MBA Program

MBA Program at Boston College

Private college ยท Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Boston College is a private college with graduate business programs in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. Those programs run through the Carroll School of Management. The institution is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 5,118 students, alongside 10,085 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 8 of 14 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Chestnut Hill in this directory - the other 13 MBA program options in Massachusetts are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Boston College

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Boston College often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Carroll School of Management may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionBoston College
Business schoolCarroll School of Management
Controlprivate
LocationChestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment5,118
Undergraduate enrollment10,085
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNew England Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Boston College

Details below come from Boston College's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA
$136,686 2026-27
  • Length 42 months
  • Credits 57
  • Delivery Hybrid
What that price is$2,398 per credit hour for 2026-27, totaling an estimated $136,686 for all 57 credits at a standard pace - this is an estimate assuming the current rate holds; BC revises tuition annually
On lengthMost finish in 3-3.5 years (as few as 2); typically two courses per semester across fall, spring, and summer
Class scheduleEvening classes and online courses

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $114,773 Median of 223 graduates working one year after completion +32% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $152,252 Median of 199 graduates working four years after completion +33% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $55,000 Median across 127 borrowers entering repayment About 0.48x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts MBA programs directory that report a figure, Boston College ranks 5th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Boston College's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Boston College's context.

Compare with other schools in Massachusetts

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Boston College This page Chestnut Hill Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,773
Babson College Wellesley Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $145,036
Boston University Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,558
Harvard University Boston Yes MBA $103,400
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
Northeastern University Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $64,718
University of Massachusetts Amherst Amherst Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $128,746
Bentley University Waltham Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,787
Brandeis University Waltham Yes MBA $89,111

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Boston College offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at Boston College, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Part-Time MBA at Boston College cost?

Boston College lists $136,686 for the Part-Time MBA. $2,398 per credit hour for 2026-27, totaling an estimated $136,686 for all 57 credits at a standard pace - this is an estimate assuming the current rate holds; BC revises tuition annually. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Part-Time MBA at Boston College, and when does it meet?

The Part-Time MBA takes about 42 months, requires 57 credits, and is delivered in a hybrid format. Most finish in 3-3.5 years (as few as 2); typically two courses per semester across fall, spring, and summer. Classes meet: Evening classes and online courses

What do graduates of Boston College's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $114,773 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Boston College who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $152,252. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Boston College?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $55,000 for business master's graduates at Boston College. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.48x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Boston College's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Boston College appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Boston College a public or private institution?

Boston College is a private college, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. It is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Boston College with other schools in Massachusetts?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Massachusetts MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →