MBA Program

MBA Program at Harvard University

Private university ยท Boston, Massachusetts

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

Harvard University is a private university with graduate business programs in Boston, Massachusetts. Those programs run through the Harvard Business School. The institution is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 21,415 students, alongside 7,601 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Boston has 5 schools in MBA Lab's MBA programs directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Harvard University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Harvard University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Harvard Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Boston first. With 5 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionHarvard University
Business schoolHarvard Business School
Controlprivate
LocationBoston, Massachusetts
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment21,415
Undergraduate enrollment7,601
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNew England Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Harvard University

Details below come from Harvard University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery In person
On lengthFull-time, two-year residential program at Harvard Business School. Tuition for 2026-27 is $84,760 per year, billed annually rather than per credit; about half of students receive need-based aid.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $103,400 Median of 107 graduates working one year after completion +19% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $113,503 Median of 108 graduates working four years after completion +10% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $20,525 Median across 46 borrowers entering repayment About 0.20x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts MBA programs directory that report a figure, Harvard University ranks 7th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Harvard University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Harvard University's context.

Compare with other schools in Massachusetts

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Harvard University This page Boston Yes MBA $103,400
Boston University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,558
Northeastern University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $64,718
Suffolk University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $88,668
University of Massachusetts Boston Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Babson College Wellesley Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $145,036
Boston College Chestnut Hill Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,773
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
University of Massachusetts Amherst Amherst Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $128,746
Bentley University Waltham Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,787
Brandeis University Waltham Yes MBA $89,111
Clark University Worcester Yes MBA $63,136
University of Massachusetts Lowell Lowell Yes MBA, Online MBA $95,192

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Harvard University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Harvard University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How long is the MBA at Harvard University, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered in person. Full-time, two-year residential program at Harvard Business School. Tuition for 2026-27 is $84,760 per year, billed annually rather than per credit; about half of students receive need-based aid.

What do graduates of Harvard University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $103,400 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Harvard University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $113,503. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Harvard University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $20,525 for business master's graduates at Harvard University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.20x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Harvard University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Harvard University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Harvard University a public or private institution?

Harvard University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Boston, Massachusetts. It is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Harvard University with other schools in Massachusetts?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Massachusetts MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →