MBA Program

MBA Program at Central Michigan University

Public university ยท Mount Pleasant, Michigan

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Central Michigan University is a public university with graduate business programs in Mount Pleasant, Michigan. Those programs run through the College of Business Administration. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 4,295 students, alongside 10,035 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 4 of 10 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Mount Pleasant in this directory - the other 9 MBA program options in Michigan are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Central Michigan University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Central Michigan University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business Administration may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionCentral Michigan University
Business schoolCollege of Business Administration
Controlpublic
LocationMount Pleasant, Michigan
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment4,295
Undergraduate enrollment10,035
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Central Michigan University

Details below come from Central Michigan University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Online MBA
$935 per credit
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$935 per credit standard rate; discounted rates of $795-$910/credit apply to military, federal, and state employees
Estimated degree costAbout $33,660 at the resident rate for all 36 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthAlso offered on campus in Mount Pleasant. Specialty tuition rate differs from CMU's standard rate - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleAsynchronous, 8-week terms - one course per term fits two courses into a standard 16-week semester

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $77,865 Median of 524 graduates working one year after completion -11% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $96,611 Median of 434 graduates working four years after completion +24% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $33,949 Median across 374 borrowers entering repayment About 0.44x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan MBA programs directory that report a figure, Central Michigan University ranks 6th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Central Michigan University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Central Michigan University's context.

Compare with other schools in Michigan

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Central Michigan University This page Mount Pleasant Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,865
Michigan State University East Lansing Yes MBA, Executive MBA $117,756
University of Michigan Ann Arbor Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $160,286
Eastern Michigan University Ypsilanti Yes MBA $77,265
Grand Valley State University Grand Rapids Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Michigan Technological University Houghton Yes MBA, Online MBA $67,821
Oakland University Rochester Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $91,379
University of Detroit Mercy Detroit Yes MBA $67,154
Wayne State University Detroit Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $93,398

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Central Michigan University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Central Michigan University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at Central Michigan University cost?

Central Michigan University lists $935 per credit for the MBA. $935 per credit standard rate; discounted rates of $795-$910/credit apply to military, federal, and state employees. Across all 36 credits that is roughly $33,660 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Central Michigan University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 36 credits and is delivered fully online. Also offered on campus in Mount Pleasant. Specialty tuition rate differs from CMU's standard rate - exact figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Asynchronous, 8-week terms - one course per term fits two courses into a standard 16-week semester

What do graduates of Central Michigan University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $77,865 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Central Michigan University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $96,611. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Central Michigan University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $33,949 for business master's graduates at Central Michigan University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.44x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Central Michigan University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Central Michigan University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Central Michigan University a public or private institution?

Central Michigan University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Mount Pleasant, Michigan. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Central Michigan University with other schools in Michigan?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Michigan MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →