MBA Program

MBA Program at Eastern Michigan University

Public university ยท Ypsilanti, Michigan

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

Eastern Michigan University is a public university with graduate business programs in Ypsilanti, Michigan. Those programs run through the College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,161 students, alongside 10,055 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Ypsilanti in this directory - the other 9 MBA program options in Michigan are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Eastern Michigan University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Eastern Michigan University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionEastern Michigan University
Business schoolCollege of Business
Controlpublic
LocationYpsilanti, Michigan
Campus settingLarge suburb
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment2,161
Undergraduate enrollment10,055
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Eastern Michigan University

Details below come from Eastern Michigan University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
$32,000
  • Credits 36
What that price isAbout $32,000 total for the core 36-hour program, per EMU's own rounded figure. Out-of-state tuition runs $1,659/credit.
On length36 credits minimum, with an 18-credit foundation segment waivable based on prior coursework; most students take about two and a half years, with up to six years allowed. Out-of-state tuition runs $1,659/credit; the in-state rate and delivery format were not confirmed on the pages checked this pass (site blocked automated access).

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $77,265 Median of 56 graduates working one year after completion -11% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $96,337 Median of 62 graduates working four years after completion +25% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $34,223 Median across 40 borrowers entering repayment About 0.44x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan MBA programs directory that report a figure, Eastern Michigan University ranks 7th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Eastern Michigan University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Eastern Michigan University's context.

Compare with other schools in Michigan

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Eastern Michigan University This page Ypsilanti Yes MBA $77,265
Michigan State University East Lansing Yes MBA, Executive MBA $117,756
University of Michigan Ann Arbor Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $160,286
Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,865
Grand Valley State University Grand Rapids Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Michigan Technological University Houghton Yes MBA, Online MBA $67,821
Oakland University Rochester Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $91,379
University of Detroit Mercy Detroit Yes MBA $67,154
Wayne State University Detroit Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $93,398

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Eastern Michigan University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Eastern Michigan University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How much does the MBA at Eastern Michigan University cost?

Eastern Michigan University lists $32,000 for the MBA. About $32,000 total for the core 36-hour program, per EMU's own rounded figure. Out-of-state tuition runs $1,659/credit. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Eastern Michigan University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 36 credits. 36 credits minimum, with an 18-credit foundation segment waivable based on prior coursework; most students take about two and a half years, with up to six years allowed. Out-of-state tuition runs $1,659/credit; the in-state rate and delivery format were not confirmed on the pages checked this pass (site blocked automated access).

What do graduates of Eastern Michigan University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $77,265 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Eastern Michigan University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $96,337. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Eastern Michigan University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $34,223 for business master's graduates at Eastern Michigan University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.44x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Eastern Michigan University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Eastern Michigan University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Eastern Michigan University a public or private institution?

Eastern Michigan University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Ypsilanti, Michigan. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Eastern Michigan University with other schools in Michigan?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Michigan MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →