MBA Program

MBA Program at Northwestern University

Private university ยท Evanston, Illinois

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Northwestern University is a private university with graduate business programs in Evanston, Illinois. Those programs run through the Kellogg School of Management. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 14,457 students, alongside 9,201 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 4 of 10 schools in MBA Lab's Illinois directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Evanston in this directory - the other 9 MBA program options in Illinois are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Northwestern University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Northwestern University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Kellogg School of Management may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionNorthwestern University
Business schoolKellogg School of Management
Controlprivate
LocationEvanston, Illinois
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment14,457
Undergraduate enrollment9,201
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Northwestern University

Details below come from Northwestern University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$248,472 2026-27
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Twice a month (Chicago) or once a month (Miami)
What that price isSix quarters at $41,412 each for 2026-27
Price includesClasses, e-books, accommodations on the Miami and Chicago campuses, most meals, and career services
On lengthSix academic quarters
Class scheduleTwice a month on the downtown Chicago campus, or once a month on the Miami campus
StartsJanuary, September

Evening & Weekend MBA Program

Part-Time MBA
$177,202
  • Credits 20.5
  • Delivery In-person — Wieboldt Hall (downtown Chicago) or Evanston campus; limited remote/online options each quarter after the first term
  • Meets Quarterly cohort starts
What that price is$8,644 per 1.0-credit course, general Fall/Winter/Spring rate ($8,392 Summer), 2026-27; traditional pace = 20.5 credits, so 20.5 x $8,644 = $177,202 before a one-time $2,040 enrollment fee and $620 course-material fee.
On lengthTraditional pace = 20.5 credits; Accelerated Option = 15.5 credits (up to 4 courses/quarter, quarterly starts).
Class scheduleEvening option: weeknights 6-9pm, once weekly per course. Weekend option: full-day Saturdays.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $224,402 Median of 177 graduates working one year after completion +157% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $244,399 Median of 214 graduates working four years after completion +9% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $172,164 Median across 158 borrowers entering repayment About 0.77x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Illinois MBA programs directory that report a figure, Northwestern University ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Northwestern University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Northwestern University's context.

Compare with other schools in Illinois

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Northwestern University This page Evanston Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $224,402
University of Chicago Chicago Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $194,606
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Champaign Yes MBA, Online MBA $118,799
Bradley University Peoria Yes MBA Not reported
DePaul University Chicago Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $101,710
Illinois State University Normal Yes MBA $85,715
Loyola University Chicago Chicago Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $101,612
Northern Illinois University DeKalb Yes MBA, Executive MBA $85,140
Southern Illinois University Carbondale Carbondale Yes MBA, Online MBA $73,272

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Northwestern University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA and a part-time MBA at Northwestern University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at Northwestern University cost?

Northwestern University lists $248,472 for the Executive MBA. Six quarters at $41,412 each for 2026-27. Price includes: Classes, e-books, accommodations on the Miami and Chicago campuses, most meals, and career services. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at Northwestern University, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered in person. Six academic quarters. Classes meet: Twice a month on the downtown Chicago campus, or once a month on the Miami campus

How much does the Evening & Weekend MBA Program at Northwestern University cost?

Northwestern University lists $177,202 for the Evening & Weekend MBA Program. $8,644 per 1.0-credit course, general Fall/Winter/Spring rate ($8,392 Summer), 2026-27; traditional pace = 20.5 credits, so 20.5 x $8,644 = $177,202 before a one-time $2,040 enrollment fee and $620 course-material fee. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Evening & Weekend MBA Program at Northwestern University, and when does it meet?

The Evening & Weekend MBA Program requires 20.5 credits. Traditional pace = 20.5 credits; Accelerated Option = 15.5 credits (up to 4 courses/quarter, quarterly starts). Classes meet: Evening option: weeknights 6-9pm, once weekly per course. Weekend option: full-day Saturdays.

What do graduates of Northwestern University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $224,402 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Northwestern University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $244,399. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Northwestern University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $172,164 for business master's graduates at Northwestern University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.77x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Northwestern University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Northwestern University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Northwestern University a public or private institution?

Northwestern University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Evanston, Illinois. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Northwestern University with other schools in Illinois?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Illinois MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →