MBA Program

MBA Program at University of California, Berkeley

Public university ยท Berkeley, California

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

University of California, Berkeley is a public university with graduate business programs in Berkeley, California. Those programs run through the Haas School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 12,812 students, alongside 33,068 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 8 of 16 schools in MBA Lab's California directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Berkeley in this directory - the other 15 MBA program options in California are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of California, Berkeley

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of California, Berkeley may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Haas School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of California, Berkeley
Business schoolHaas School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationBerkeley, California
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment12,812
Undergraduate enrollment33,068
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of California, Berkeley

Details below come from University of California, Berkeley's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$227,325
  • Length 22 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets About once a month
What that price isApproximate program total for the class entering July 2026, for the 22-month program
Class scheduleCore classes about once a month, Thursday-Saturday, across five terms of four course blocks each
Residencies and travelFive field immersion programs (one per term), each typically 5-7 days

Evening & Weekend MBA

Part-Time MBA
$175,980
  • Length 36 months
  • Credits 42
  • Delivery Hybrid — in-person evenings/weekends on the Berkeley campus, or a Flex option built around online core courses
  • Meets Cohort-based; single annual intake beginning late July
What that price is$4,190 per unit (2026-27 published rate) x minimum 42 required units = $175,980 computed total; flat per-unit rate, no CA-resident/non-resident split.
On lengthStandard track is three years / six semesters beginning late July each year; typically described as 2 to 3 years, allowing an accelerated pace.
Class scheduleEvening Option (Mon/Wed or Tue/Thu evenings); Weekend Option (Saturdays 9am-6pm PT); Flex Option (mostly online)

Compare with other schools in California

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of California, Berkeley This page Berkeley Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Pepperdine University Malibu Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,068
Stanford University Stanford Yes MBA $193,776
University of California, Irvine Irvine Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,774
University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $172,128
University of California, San Diego San Diego Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,870
University of Southern California Los Angeles Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $132,668
California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo Yes MBA $66,290
Chapman University Orange Yes MBA $91,418

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of California, Berkeley offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA and a part-time MBA at University of California, Berkeley, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at University of California, Berkeley cost?

University of California, Berkeley lists $227,325 for the Executive MBA. Approximate program total for the class entering July 2026, for the 22-month program. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at University of California, Berkeley, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 22 months and is delivered in person. Classes meet: Core classes about once a month, Thursday-Saturday, across five terms of four course blocks each

How much does the Evening & Weekend MBA at University of California, Berkeley cost?

University of California, Berkeley lists $175,980 for the Evening & Weekend MBA. $4,190 per unit (2026-27 published rate) x minimum 42 required units = $175,980 computed total; flat per-unit rate, no CA-resident/non-resident split. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Evening & Weekend MBA at University of California, Berkeley, and when does it meet?

The Evening & Weekend MBA takes about 36 months and requires 42 credits. Standard track is three years / six semesters beginning late July each year; typically described as 2 to 3 years, allowing an accelerated pace. Classes meet: Evening Option (Mon/Wed or Tue/Thu evenings); Weekend Option (Saturdays 9am-6pm PT); Flex Option (mostly online)

Is University of California, Berkeley's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of California, Berkeley appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of California, Berkeley a public or private institution?

University of California, Berkeley is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Berkeley, California. It is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

How do I compare University of California, Berkeley with other schools in California?

MBA Lab lists 16 schools in its California MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →