MBA Program

MBA Program at University of Pittsburgh

Public university ยท Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

University of Pittsburgh is a public university with graduate business programs in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Those programs run through the Katz Graduate School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 16 of the 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 9,824 students, alongside 20,370 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 6 of 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Pittsburgh has 3 schools in MBA Lab's MBA programs directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask University of Pittsburgh

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Pittsburgh may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Katz Graduate School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Pittsburgh first. With 3 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Pittsburgh
Business schoolKatz Graduate School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment9,824
Undergraduate enrollment20,370
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Pittsburgh

Details below come from University of Pittsburgh's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$95,000
  • Delivery Hybrid
  • Meets One weekend per month
What that price isProgram total across five terms, same for in-state and out-of-state residents
Price includesAll materials and meals during on-campus weekends
On lengthFive terms
Class scheduleOnline coursework plus one Friday and Saturday per month on campus, plus one week abroad for a global research project
Residencies and travelOne week abroad for a global research project

Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,732 per credit
  • Credits 45
  • Delivery Two cohort options — fully on-campus (evening classes) or fully online with one required Capstone residency weekend in Pittsburgh
What that price is$1,732 per credit hour for 2026-27, identical for Pennsylvania residents and out-of-state students ('in-state tuition for everyone'); mandatory fees of $580/term are additional. No single lump-sum total published; 45 credits x $1,732 computes to approximately $77,940 before fees.
Estimated degree costAbout $77,940 at the resident rate for all 45 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthTypically completed in 2-3 years; Pitt's catalog specifies 3 years at approximately 6 credits per term.
Class scheduleTwo evenings a week for core coursework (on-campus cohort); online cohort has flexible electives plus optional in-person immersions

Compare with other schools in Pennsylvania

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Pittsburgh This page Pittsburgh Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA $165,798
Duquesne University Pittsburgh (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $75,618
Penn State University University Park Yes MBA, Online MBA $106,923
Temple University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA $129,690
University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA $210,400
Drexel University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,936
La Salle University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,672
Lehigh University Bethlehem Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,962
Robert Morris University Moon Township Yes MBA, Online MBA $75,409
Saint Joseph's University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Pittsburgh offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA and a part-time MBA at University of Pittsburgh, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at University of Pittsburgh cost?

University of Pittsburgh lists $95,000 for the Executive MBA. Program total across five terms, same for in-state and out-of-state residents. Price includes: All materials and meals during on-campus weekends. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at University of Pittsburgh, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA is delivered in a hybrid format. Five terms. Classes meet: Online coursework plus one Friday and Saturday per month on campus, plus one week abroad for a global research project

How much does the Part-Time MBA at University of Pittsburgh cost?

University of Pittsburgh lists $1,732 per credit for the Part-Time MBA. $1,732 per credit hour for 2026-27, identical for Pennsylvania residents and out-of-state students ('in-state tuition for everyone'); mandatory fees of $580/term are additional. No single lump-sum total published; 45 credits x $1,732 computes to approximately $77,940 before fees. Across all 45 credits that is roughly $77,940 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Part-Time MBA at University of Pittsburgh, and when does it meet?

The Part-Time MBA requires 45 credits. Typically completed in 2-3 years; Pitt's catalog specifies 3 years at approximately 6 credits per term. Classes meet: Two evenings a week for core coursework (on-campus cohort); online cohort has flexible electives plus optional in-person immersions

Is University of Pittsburgh's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Pittsburgh appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Pittsburgh a public or private institution?

University of Pittsburgh is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare University of Pittsburgh with other schools in Pennsylvania?

MBA Lab lists 17 schools in its Pennsylvania MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →