MBA Program

MBA Program at William & Mary

Public university ยท Williamsburg, Virginia

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

William & Mary is a public university with graduate business programs in Williamsburg, Virginia. Those programs run through the Mason School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 13 of the 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,755 students, alongside 7,055 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an online MBA format for remote or working students, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 3 of 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Williamsburg in this directory - the other 17 MBA program options in Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask William & Mary

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, William & Mary may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Mason School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionWilliam & Mary
Business schoolMason School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationWilliamsburg, Virginia
Campus settingSmall suburb
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment2,755
Undergraduate enrollment7,055
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at William & Mary

Details below come from William & Mary's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$124,373 2026-27
  • Length 18 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets About every other weekend
What that price isProgram total across five semesters, billed at $24,874.60 each
Price includesInstruction and fees. Long-haul international flights for the two required global immersions are not included - the school suggests budgeting about $3,000 for two round-trip tickets.
On lengthFive semesters
Class scheduleAll day Friday and all day Saturday, about every other weekend, in Williamsburg
Residencies and travelA kick-off residency in Williamsburg and a Washington, D.C.-area residency, plus two global immersions in regions such as Latin America or Europe and China

Online MBA for Working Professionals

Online MBA
$71,932
  • Credits 49
  • Delivery Online asynchronous coursework plus one required on-campus Residency Weekend in Williamsburg, VA
  • Meets Priority deadline June 12, final deadline July 31
What that price isPublished per-credit tuition rate of $1,468 x 49 required credit hours = $71,932 (tuition only). A mandatory Residency fee and a one-time graduation fee bring the all-in total to roughly $74,200; not included in the TotalTuition figure above. Rate does not vary by residency.
On length12 courses x 7.5 weeks each, plus one required residency weekend; roughly 18-24 months.
Class scheduleAsynchronous online, 7.5-week course terms

Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,069-$1,489 per credit
  • Credits 49
  • Delivery Hybrid evening program on William & Mary's Williamsburg, VA campus; about 25% of each course delivered through online modules
  • Meets Year-round enrollment; most students take two courses per semester
What that price isPublished per-credit rate for students taking fewer than 9 credit hours/semester in Fall or Spring: $1,069/credit in-state, $1,489/credit out-of-state. Additional fees apply on top and are not included above.
Estimated degree costAbout $52,381 at the resident rate for all 49 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthApproximately 2 years, flexible to accelerate, slow down, or take a semester off; 4-credit-hour courses over 7.5-week sessions, most students take 2 courses/semester.
Class scheduleTwo evenings per week, 6:30-9:20 PM

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $98,269 Median of 369 graduates working one year after completion +13% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $125,353 Median of 401 graduates working four years after completion +28% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $52,625 Median across 302 borrowers entering repayment About 0.54x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 15 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia MBA programs directory that report a figure, William & Mary ranks 7th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check William & Mary's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with William & Mary's context.

Compare with other schools in Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
William & Mary This page Williamsburg Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,269
Liberty University Lynchburg MBA, Online MBA $71,483
University of Virginia Charlottesville Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $189,494
Virginia Tech Blacksburg Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $119,423
George Mason University Fairfax Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,723
Hampton University Hampton MBA, Online MBA $80,981
James Madison University Harrisonburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $110,442
Longwood University Farmville Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Marymount University Arlington MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,027

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does William & Mary offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA, an executive MBA, and a part-time MBA at William & Mary, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at William & Mary cost?

William & Mary lists $124,373 for the Executive MBA. Program total across five semesters, billed at $24,874.60 each. Price includes: Instruction and fees. Long-haul international flights for the two required global immersions are not included - the school suggests budgeting about $3,000 for two round-trip tickets. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at William & Mary, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 18 months and is delivered in person. Five semesters. Classes meet: All day Friday and all day Saturday, about every other weekend, in Williamsburg

How much does the Online MBA for Working Professionals at William & Mary cost?

William & Mary lists $71,932 for the Online MBA for Working Professionals. Published per-credit tuition rate of $1,468 x 49 required credit hours = $71,932 (tuition only). A mandatory Residency fee and a one-time graduation fee bring the all-in total to roughly $74,200; not included in the TotalTuition figure above. Rate does not vary by residency. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA for Working Professionals at William & Mary, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA for Working Professionals requires 49 credits. 12 courses x 7.5 weeks each, plus one required residency weekend; roughly 18-24 months. Classes meet: Asynchronous online, 7.5-week course terms

How much does the Part-Time MBA at William & Mary cost?

William & Mary lists $1,069-$1,489 per credit for the Part-Time MBA. Published per-credit rate for students taking fewer than 9 credit hours/semester in Fall or Spring: $1,069/credit in-state, $1,489/credit out-of-state. Additional fees apply on top and are not included above. Across all 49 credits that is roughly $52,381 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Part-Time MBA at William & Mary, and when does it meet?

The Part-Time MBA requires 49 credits. Approximately 2 years, flexible to accelerate, slow down, or take a semester off; 4-credit-hour courses over 7.5-week sessions, most students take 2 courses/semester. Classes meet: Two evenings per week, 6:30-9:20 PM

What do graduates of William & Mary's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $98,269 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at William & Mary who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $125,353. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at William & Mary?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $52,625 for business master's graduates at William & Mary. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.54x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is William & Mary's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - William & Mary appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is William & Mary a public or private institution?

William & Mary is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Williamsburg, Virginia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare William & Mary with other schools in Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 18 schools in its Virginia MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →