Online MBA

Online MBA at Marshall University

Public university ยท Huntington, West Virginia

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Marshall University is a public university with graduate business programs in Huntington, West Virginia. Those programs run through the Lewis College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 2 of the 4 schools in MBA Lab's West Virginia directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,812 students, alongside 7,266 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Huntington in this directory - the other 2 online MBA options in West Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Marshall University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Marshall University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Lewis College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionMarshall University
Business schoolLewis College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationHuntington, West Virginia
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment2,812
Undergraduate enrollment7,266
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Marshall University

Details below come from Marshall University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$598 per credit
  • Credits 33
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$598 per credit hour (2026-27, down from $634.75 in 2025-26)
Estimated degree costAbout $19,734 at the resident rate for all 33 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthFull-time: one calendar year. Part-time: one or two classes per semester. Tuition is prorated by credit load - see Marshall's tuition page for the current rate.

Compare with other schools in West Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Marshall University This page Huntington Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
West Virginia University Morgantown Yes MBA, Online MBA $71,286
University of Charleston Charleston MBA, Online MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Marshall University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Marshall University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Marshall University cost?

Marshall University lists $598 per credit for the Online MBA. $598 per credit hour (2026-27, down from $634.75 in 2025-26). Across all 33 credits that is roughly $19,734 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Marshall University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA requires 33 credits and is delivered fully online. Full-time: one calendar year. Part-time: one or two classes per semester. Tuition is prorated by credit load - see Marshall's tuition page for the current rate.

Is Marshall University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Marshall University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Marshall University a public or private institution?

Marshall University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Huntington, West Virginia. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Marshall University with other schools in West Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 3 schools in its West Virginia online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →