Online MBA

Online MBA at Penn State University

Public university ยท University Park, Pennsylvania

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Penn State University is a public university with graduate business programs in University Park, Pennsylvania. Those programs run through the Smeal College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 16 of the 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 8,133 students, alongside 42,284 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 6 of 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in University Park in this directory - the other 5 online MBA options in Pennsylvania are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Penn State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Penn State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Smeal College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionPenn State University
Business schoolSmeal College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationUniversity Park, Pennsylvania
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment8,133
Undergraduate enrollment42,284
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Penn State University

Details below come from Penn State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$1,286 per credit
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 48
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$1,286 per credit (2026-27, rising to $1,312 for AY2027-28), or a flat $15,434/semester at 12+ credits
Estimated degree costAbout $61,728 at the resident rate for all 48 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthAs few as two years. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleAsynchronous - no fixed weekly meeting time

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $106,923 Median of 427 graduates working one year after completion +23% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $127,665 Median of 406 graduates working four years after completion +19% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $41,000 Median across 234 borrowers entering repayment About 0.38x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 5 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania online MBA programs directory that report a figure, Penn State University ranks 2nd by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Penn State University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Penn State University's context.

Compare with other schools in Pennsylvania

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Penn State University This page University Park Yes MBA, Online MBA $106,923
Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh Yes MBA, Online MBA $165,798
Drexel University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,936
Robert Morris University Moon Township Yes MBA, Online MBA $75,409
University of Scranton Scranton Yes MBA, Online MBA $105,104
West Chester University West Chester Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Penn State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Penn State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Penn State University cost?

Penn State University lists $1,286 per credit for the Online MBA. $1,286 per credit (2026-27, rising to $1,312 for AY2027-28), or a flat $15,434/semester at 12+ credits. Across all 48 credits that is roughly $61,728 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Penn State University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 24 months, requires 48 credits, and is delivered fully online. As few as two years. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Asynchronous - no fixed weekly meeting time

What do graduates of Penn State University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $106,923 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Penn State University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $127,665. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Penn State University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $41,000 for business master's graduates at Penn State University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.38x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Penn State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Penn State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Penn State University a public or private institution?

Penn State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in University Park, Pennsylvania. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Penn State University with other schools in Pennsylvania?

MBA Lab lists 6 schools in its Pennsylvania online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →