Online MBA

Online MBA at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Public university ยท Chapel Hill, North Carolina

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA
  • Executive MBA

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is a public university with graduate business programs in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Those programs run through the Kenan-Flagler Business School. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 12 of the 13 schools in MBA Lab's North Carolina directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 11,553 students, alongside 20,752 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an online MBA format for remote or working students, and an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals. That puts it among the 2 of 13 schools in MBA Lab's North Carolina directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Chapel Hill in this directory - the other 5 online MBA options in North Carolina are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Kenan-Flagler Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Business schoolKenan-Flagler Business School
Controlpublic
LocationChapel Hill, North Carolina
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA Executive MBA
Graduate enrollment11,553
Undergraduate enrollment20,752
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Details below come from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA (MBA@UNC)

Online MBA
$125,589
  • Credits 62
  • Delivery Primarily online — blend of live interactive classes and on-demand coursework, plus optional in-person summits/immersions
What that price isEstimated total program tuition of approximately $125,589 for the full 62-credit Online MBA, per Kenan-Flagler's own program page; explicitly excludes travel for optional in-person immersions, books, materials, and technology fees.
On length18 to 36 months, self-paced within that range.

Weekend Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$125,589
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets About once a month
What that price isTotal program cost across 5 installments for the January 2027 cohort, covering tuition, texts, and in-person weekend lodging/most meals; subject to NC General Assembly approval
On lengthTwo years - core courses in year one, electives in year two. North Carolina and out-of-state residents pay the same tuition (no state subsidy applies). A $1,500 deposit applies to the first payment; total tuition was not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleAbout once a month: each term includes two in-person weekends (Friday-Sunday morning) and one virtual weekend in between, plus periodic three-day Impact Weekends alternating between Chapel Hill and Charlotte
Residencies and travelPeriodic three-day Impact Weekends

Charlotte Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$125,589
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Weekly Monday evenings
What that price isTotal program cost across 5 installments, includes tuition plus meals/housing during Orientation and Impact Weekends; subject to NC General Assembly approval. Length and credit hours not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
On lengthFor professionals near the Charlotte metro. Same tuition for North Carolina and out-of-state residents; total figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleMonday evenings, 5:30-9:50 p.m. (about 7 per term), alternating with 2-3 Executive Friday sessions per term (noon-6:45 p.m.) that include executive lunches

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $156,818 Median of 789 graduates working one year after completion +80% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $203,447 Median of 832 graduates working four years after completion +30% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $90,800 Median across 581 borrowers entering repayment About 0.58x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 5 schools in MBA Lab's North Carolina online MBA programs directory that report a figure, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's context.

Compare with other schools in North Carolina

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill This page Chapel Hill Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $156,818
North Carolina State University Raleigh Yes MBA, Online MBA $113,700
East Carolina University Greenville Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,753
Fayetteville State University Fayetteville Yes MBA, Online MBA $68,138
High Point University High Point MBA, Online MBA Not reported
University of North Carolina Wilmington Wilmington Yes MBA, Online MBA $80,921

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA and an executive MBA at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA (MBA@UNC) at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill cost?

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill lists $125,589 for the Online MBA (MBA@UNC). Estimated total program tuition of approximately $125,589 for the full 62-credit Online MBA, per Kenan-Flagler's own program page; explicitly excludes travel for optional in-person immersions, books, materials, and technology fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA (MBA@UNC) at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA (MBA@UNC) requires 62 credits. 18 to 36 months, self-paced within that range.

How much does the Weekend Executive MBA at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill cost?

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill lists $125,589 for the Weekend Executive MBA. Total program cost across 5 installments for the January 2027 cohort, covering tuition, texts, and in-person weekend lodging/most meals; subject to NC General Assembly approval. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Weekend Executive MBA at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and when does it meet?

The Weekend Executive MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered in person. Two years - core courses in year one, electives in year two. North Carolina and out-of-state residents pay the same tuition (no state subsidy applies). A $1,500 deposit applies to the first payment; total tuition was not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: About once a month: each term includes two in-person weekends (Friday-Sunday morning) and one virtual weekend in between, plus periodic three-day Impact Weekends alternating between Chapel Hill and Charlotte

How much does the Charlotte Executive MBA at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill cost?

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill lists $125,589 for the Charlotte Executive MBA. Total program cost across 5 installments, includes tuition plus meals/housing during Orientation and Impact Weekends; subject to NC General Assembly approval. Length and credit hours not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Charlotte Executive MBA at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and when does it meet?

The Charlotte Executive MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered in person. For professionals near the Charlotte metro. Same tuition for North Carolina and out-of-state residents; total figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Monday evenings, 5:30-9:50 p.m. (about 7 per term), alternating with 2-3 Executive Friday sessions per term (noon-6:45 p.m.) that include executive lunches

What do graduates of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $156,818 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $203,447. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $90,800 for business master's graduates at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.58x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill a public or private institution?

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with other schools in North Carolina?

MBA Lab lists 6 schools in its North Carolina online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →