Business School

Business School at Ball State University

Public university ยท Muncie, Indiana

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Ball State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Muncie, Indiana. Those programs run through the Miller College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 5,900 students, alongside 13,988 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Muncie in this directory - the other 6 business school options in Indiana are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Ball State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Ball State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Miller College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionBall State University
Business schoolMiller College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationMuncie, Indiana
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment5,900
Undergraduate enrollment13,988
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Ball State University

Details below come from Ball State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Online MBA
$696 per credit
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit for distance-education courses, plus a $25-per-course online fee - total credit hours were not confirmed on the pages checked this pass

4 concentrations

  • Business Analytics
  • Finance
  • Healthcare Administration
  • Logistics and Supply Chain Management

Compare with other schools in Indiana

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Ball State University This page Muncie Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Indiana University Bloomington Bloomington Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Purdue University West Lafayette Yes MBA, Online MBA $103,280
University of Notre Dame Notre Dame Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
Butler University Indianapolis Yes MBA, Online MBA $111,570
Indiana State University Terre Haute Yes MBA, Online MBA $72,402
Valparaiso University Valparaiso Yes MBA $69,833

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Ball State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Ball State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at Ball State University cost?

Ball State University lists $696 per credit for the MBA. Per credit for distance-education courses, plus a $25-per-course online fee - total credit hours were not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Ball State University, and when does it meet?

The MBA is delivered fully online.

Is Ball State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Ball State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Ball State University a public or private institution?

Ball State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Muncie, Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Ball State University with other schools in Indiana?

MBA Lab lists 7 schools in its Indiana business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →