Business School

Business School at Purdue University

Public university ยท West Lafayette, Indiana

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Purdue University is a public university with graduate business programs in West Lafayette, Indiana. Those programs run through the Daniels School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 13,839 students, alongside 44,503 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in West Lafayette in this directory - the other 6 business school options in Indiana are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Purdue University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Purdue University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Daniels School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionPurdue University
Business schoolDaniels School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationWest Lafayette, Indiana
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment13,839
Undergraduate enrollment44,503
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Purdue University

Details below come from Purdue University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$728-$748 per credit
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 48
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit hour, effective Fall 2025; first figure is the Indiana resident rate
Estimated degree costAbout $34,944 at the resident rate for all 48 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthAs few as two years; tuition can spread across two to four years depending on pace and course load. This is now Purdue's only general MBA - the Daniels School streamlined away its Executive MBA.
Class scheduleFully online, with optional in-person courses and experiences

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $103,280 Median of 115 graduates working one year after completion +18% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $132,747 Median of 153 graduates working four years after completion +29% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $41,000 Median across 90 borrowers entering repayment About 0.40x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 4 schools in MBA Lab's Indiana business schools directory that report a figure, Purdue University ranks 2nd by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Purdue University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Purdue University's context.

Compare with other schools in Indiana

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Purdue University This page West Lafayette Yes MBA, Online MBA $103,280
Indiana University Bloomington Bloomington Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
University of Notre Dame Notre Dame Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
Ball State University Muncie Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Butler University Indianapolis Yes MBA, Online MBA $111,570
Indiana State University Terre Haute Yes MBA, Online MBA $72,402
Valparaiso University Valparaiso Yes MBA $69,833

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Purdue University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Purdue University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Purdue University cost?

Purdue University lists $728-$748 per credit for the Online MBA. Per credit hour, effective Fall 2025; first figure is the Indiana resident rate. Across all 48 credits that is roughly $34,944 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Purdue University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 24 months, requires 48 credits, and is delivered fully online. As few as two years; tuition can spread across two to four years depending on pace and course load. This is now Purdue's only general MBA - the Daniels School streamlined away its Executive MBA. Classes meet: Fully online, with optional in-person courses and experiences

What do graduates of Purdue University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $103,280 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Purdue University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $132,747. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Purdue University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $41,000 for business master's graduates at Purdue University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.40x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Purdue University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Purdue University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Purdue University a public or private institution?

Purdue University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in West Lafayette, Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Purdue University with other schools in Indiana?

MBA Lab lists 7 schools in its Indiana business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →