Business School

Business School at Grand Valley State University

Public university ยท Grand Rapids, Michigan

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Grand Valley State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Those programs run through the Seidman College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 3,009 students, alongside 18,854 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 3 of 10 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Grand Rapids in this directory - the other 9 business school options in Michigan are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Grand Valley State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Grand Valley State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Seidman College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionGrand Valley State University
Business schoolSeidman College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationGrand Rapids, Michigan
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classDoctoral university
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment3,009
Undergraduate enrollment18,854
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Grand Valley State University

Details below come from Grand Valley State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$69,000
  • Length 20 months
  • Credits 38
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Every other week
What that price isProgram total, billed each semester
Price includesProfessional development, mentoring, materials, parking, meals on program days, and ground costs for the international trip
On lengthFour semesters, lockstep cohort
Class scheduleEvery other week on Friday and Saturday at GVSU's Pew Campus in downtown Grand Rapids
Residencies and travelAn international trip (ground costs included in tuition; airfare separate)
Work experience5+ years required

Professional MBA

Part-Time MBA
$33,840
  • Length 20 months
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Hybrid — in-person evening class paired with the same course offered online on alternating weeks
  • Meets Cohort-based; Fall 2026 cohort currently enrolling
What that price is$940 per credit hour, general 2026-27 rate for the 36-credit Professional MBA; reconciles exactly to the school-published total of $33,840.
Class scheduleTwo courses per semester; one evening per week in-person, alternating with an online session of the same course

Compare with other schools in Michigan

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Grand Valley State University This page Grand Rapids Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Michigan State University East Lansing Yes MBA, Executive MBA $117,756
University of Michigan Ann Arbor Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $160,286
Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,865
Eastern Michigan University Ypsilanti Yes MBA $77,265
Michigan Technological University Houghton Yes MBA, Online MBA $67,821
Oakland University Rochester Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $91,379
University of Detroit Mercy Detroit Yes MBA $67,154
Wayne State University Detroit Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $93,398

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Grand Valley State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA and a part-time MBA at Grand Valley State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at Grand Valley State University cost?

Grand Valley State University lists $69,000 for the Executive MBA. Program total, billed each semester. Price includes: Professional development, mentoring, materials, parking, meals on program days, and ground costs for the international trip. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at Grand Valley State University, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 20 months, requires 38 credits, and is delivered in person. Four semesters, lockstep cohort. Classes meet: Every other week on Friday and Saturday at GVSU's Pew Campus in downtown Grand Rapids Applicants need at least 5 years of work experience.

How much does the Professional MBA at Grand Valley State University cost?

Grand Valley State University lists $33,840 for the Professional MBA. $940 per credit hour, general 2026-27 rate for the 36-credit Professional MBA; reconciles exactly to the school-published total of $33,840. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Professional MBA at Grand Valley State University, and when does it meet?

The Professional MBA takes about 20 months and requires 36 credits. Classes meet: Two courses per semester; one evening per week in-person, alternating with an online session of the same course

Is Grand Valley State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Grand Valley State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Grand Valley State University a public or private institution?

Grand Valley State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Grand Rapids, Michigan. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Grand Valley State University with other schools in Michigan?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Michigan business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →