Business School

Business School at University of Michigan

Public university ยท Ann Arbor, Michigan

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

University of Michigan is a public university with graduate business programs in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Those programs run through the Ross School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 18,401 students, alongside 34,177 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an online MBA format for remote or working students, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 3 of 10 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Ann Arbor in this directory - the other 9 business school options in Michigan are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of Michigan

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Michigan may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Ross School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Michigan
Business schoolRoss School of Business
Controlpublic
LocationAnn Arbor, Michigan
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment18,401
Undergraduate enrollment34,177
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Michigan

Details below come from University of Michigan's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
  • Length 21 months
  • Credits 47.5
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Once a month
What that price is$38,800/semester Michigan residents, $39,800/semester non-residents (Cohort 32, Fall 2025), across 5 consecutive semesters - no lump-sum total is published
Price includesCourse tuition, mandatory fees, books, technology, residency accommodations, and dining
On lengthFive terms, beginning each August. Offered in Ann Arbor or Los Angeles with the same faculty and curriculum. 2026-27 tuition rates had not yet been posted as of this check (expected July 2026).
Class scheduleOnce a month on campus, typically three courses at a time; remote exams run Friday through Sunday

Online MBA

Online MBA
$120,000
  • Length 36 months
  • Credits 57
  • Delivery Online — live interactive online class sessions plus three in-person residencies (locations within and outside the U.S.)
  • Meets Not a strict lockstep cohort; self-paced with start terms in January and late August
What that price isRoss's published estimated total for 57 credits at Michigan-resident rates (non-resident/international total $130,000). Per-credit cost $1,907 first credit hour / $2,148 additional (resident) and $2,083/$2,324 (non-resident).
On lengthSelf-paced; typically 2-3 years (can accelerate to 2 years or extend up to 5). One of Ross's two Part-Time MBA tracks — the online one; the in-person Weekend MBA track is a separate record.
Class scheduleSynchronous evening online classes, asynchronous coursework, plus three required in-person residencies

Weekend MBA

Part-Time MBA
$149,000
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 57
  • Delivery In-person, on campus (Ann Arbor) — every-other-weekend format
  • Meets Lockstep, cohort-based; single new cohort starts each May
What that price isRoss's published estimated total for 57 credits at Michigan-resident rates (non-resident/international total $159,000). Per-credit cost $2,782 first credit hour / $2,597 additional (resident) and $2,958/$2,773 (non-resident).
On lengthLockstep two-year format (six terms), every-other-weekend schedule. Ross's in-person, on-campus part-time MBA track.
Class scheduleClasses held on campus every other weekend (Fridays and Saturdays)

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $160,286 Median of 749 graduates working one year after completion +84% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $206,293 Median of 729 graduates working four years after completion +29% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $56,932 Median across 609 borrowers entering repayment About 0.36x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan business schools directory that report a figure, University of Michigan ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Michigan's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Michigan's context.

Compare with other schools in Michigan

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Michigan This page Ann Arbor Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $160,286
Michigan State University East Lansing Yes MBA, Executive MBA $117,756
Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,865
Eastern Michigan University Ypsilanti Yes MBA $77,265
Grand Valley State University Grand Rapids Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Michigan Technological University Houghton Yes MBA, Online MBA $67,821
Oakland University Rochester Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $91,379
University of Detroit Mercy Detroit Yes MBA $67,154
Wayne State University Detroit Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $93,398

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Michigan offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA, an executive MBA, and a part-time MBA at University of Michigan, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How long is the Executive MBA at University of Michigan, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 21 months, requires 47.5 credits, and is delivered in person. Five terms, beginning each August. Offered in Ann Arbor or Los Angeles with the same faculty and curriculum. 2026-27 tuition rates had not yet been posted as of this check (expected July 2026). Classes meet: Once a month on campus, typically three courses at a time; remote exams run Friday through Sunday

How much does the Online MBA at University of Michigan cost?

University of Michigan lists $120,000 for the Online MBA. Ross's published estimated total for 57 credits at Michigan-resident rates (non-resident/international total $130,000). Per-credit cost $1,907 first credit hour / $2,148 additional (resident) and $2,083/$2,324 (non-resident). Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at University of Michigan, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 36 months and requires 57 credits. Self-paced; typically 2-3 years (can accelerate to 2 years or extend up to 5). One of Ross's two Part-Time MBA tracks — the online one; the in-person Weekend MBA track is a separate record. Classes meet: Synchronous evening online classes, asynchronous coursework, plus three required in-person residencies

How much does the Weekend MBA at University of Michigan cost?

University of Michigan lists $149,000 for the Weekend MBA. Ross's published estimated total for 57 credits at Michigan-resident rates (non-resident/international total $159,000). Per-credit cost $2,782 first credit hour / $2,597 additional (resident) and $2,958/$2,773 (non-resident). Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Weekend MBA at University of Michigan, and when does it meet?

The Weekend MBA takes about 24 months and requires 57 credits. Lockstep two-year format (six terms), every-other-weekend schedule. Ross's in-person, on-campus part-time MBA track. Classes meet: Classes held on campus every other weekend (Fridays and Saturdays)

What do graduates of University of Michigan's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $160,286 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Michigan who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $206,293. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Michigan?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $56,932 for business master's graduates at University of Michigan. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.36x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Michigan's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Michigan appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Michigan a public or private institution?

University of Michigan is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Ann Arbor, Michigan. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare University of Michigan with other schools in Michigan?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Michigan business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →