Business School

Business School at University of Detroit Mercy

Private university ยท Detroit, Michigan

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

University of Detroit Mercy is a private university with graduate business programs in Detroit, Michigan. Those programs run through the College of Business Administration. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,165 students, alongside 2,438 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Detroit has 2 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask University of Detroit Mercy

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like University of Detroit Mercy often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business Administration may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Detroit first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Detroit Mercy
Business schoolCollege of Business Administration
Controlprivate
LocationDetroit, Michigan
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment2,165
Undergraduate enrollment2,438
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Detroit Mercy

Details below come from University of Detroit Mercy's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
$955 per credit
  • Credits 33
  • Delivery Online, in person, or hybrid
What that price isPer credit hour (2026-27, up from $936 in 2025-26)
Estimated degree costAbout $31,515 at the resident rate for all 33 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On length33 credits (plus up to 12 additional foundation hours if needed); about 2 years at a standard pace, or as little as 1 year using two 7-week accelerated summer sessions. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

4 concentrations

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Marketing
  • International Business
  • Supply Chain Management

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $67,154 Median of 52 graduates working one year after completion -23% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $94,382 Median of 61 graduates working four years after completion +41% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $39,187 Median across 35 borrowers entering repayment About 0.58x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan business schools directory that report a figure, University of Detroit Mercy ranks 9th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Detroit Mercy's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Detroit Mercy's context.

Compare with other schools in Michigan

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Detroit Mercy This page Detroit Yes MBA $67,154
Wayne State University Detroit (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $93,398
Michigan State University East Lansing Yes MBA, Executive MBA $117,756
University of Michigan Ann Arbor Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $160,286
Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,865
Eastern Michigan University Ypsilanti Yes MBA $77,265
Grand Valley State University Grand Rapids Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Michigan Technological University Houghton Yes MBA, Online MBA $67,821
Oakland University Rochester Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $91,379
Western Michigan University Kalamazoo Yes MBA $83,229

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Detroit Mercy offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at University of Detroit Mercy. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How much does the MBA at University of Detroit Mercy cost?

University of Detroit Mercy lists $955 per credit for the MBA. Per credit hour (2026-27, up from $936 in 2025-26). Across all 33 credits that is roughly $31,515 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at University of Detroit Mercy, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 33 credits. 33 credits (plus up to 12 additional foundation hours if needed); about 2 years at a standard pace, or as little as 1 year using two 7-week accelerated summer sessions. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

What do graduates of University of Detroit Mercy's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $67,154 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Detroit Mercy who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $94,382. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Detroit Mercy?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $39,187 for business master's graduates at University of Detroit Mercy. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.58x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Detroit Mercy's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Detroit Mercy appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Detroit Mercy a public or private institution?

University of Detroit Mercy is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Detroit, Michigan. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare University of Detroit Mercy with other schools in Michigan?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Michigan business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →