Business School

Business School at Louisiana State University

Public university ยท Baton Rouge, Louisiana

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Louisiana State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Those programs run through the Ourso College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 7,463 students, alongside 30,594 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 3 of 5 schools in MBA Lab's Louisiana directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Baton Rouge in this directory - the other 4 business school options in Louisiana are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Louisiana State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Louisiana State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Ourso College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionLouisiana State University
Business schoolOurso College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationBaton Rouge, Louisiana
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment7,463
Undergraduate enrollment30,594
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Louisiana State University

Details below come from Louisiana State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$40,140
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$1,115 per credit hour, totaling $40,140 with fees for all 36 credits
On lengthConcentration options include General Business, Accounting, International Business, Human Resources, Finance, Entrepreneurship & Family Enterprise, Project Management, and Hospitality & Casino Management, each with its own credit total (General Business runs 30 credits). Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleSix start dates a year, seven-week terms

8 concentrations

  • General Business
  • Accounting
  • International Business
  • Human Resources
  • Finance
  • Entrepreneurship & Family Enterprise
  • Project Management
  • Hospitality & Casino Management

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $98,275 Median of 161 graduates working one year after completion +13% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $120,107 Median of 133 graduates working four years after completion +22% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $54,666 Median across 97 borrowers entering repayment About 0.56x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 4 schools in MBA Lab's Louisiana business schools directory that report a figure, Louisiana State University ranks 2nd by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Louisiana State University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Louisiana State University's context.

Compare with other schools in Louisiana

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Louisiana State University This page Baton Rouge Yes MBA, Online MBA $98,275
Tulane University New Orleans Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $109,759
Louisiana Tech University Ruston Yes MBA $64,038
Loyola University New Orleans New Orleans Yes MBA Not reported
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Lafayette Yes MBA, Online MBA $61,995

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Louisiana State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Louisiana State University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Louisiana State University cost?

Louisiana State University lists $40,140 for the Online MBA. $1,115 per credit hour, totaling $40,140 with fees for all 36 credits. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Louisiana State University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA requires 36 credits and is delivered fully online. Concentration options include General Business, Accounting, International Business, Human Resources, Finance, Entrepreneurship & Family Enterprise, Project Management, and Hospitality & Casino Management, each with its own credit total (General Business runs 30 credits). Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Six start dates a year, seven-week terms

What do graduates of Louisiana State University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $98,275 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Louisiana State University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $120,107. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Louisiana State University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $54,666 for business master's graduates at Louisiana State University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.56x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Louisiana State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Louisiana State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Louisiana State University a public or private institution?

Louisiana State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Louisiana State University with other schools in Louisiana?

MBA Lab lists 5 schools in its Louisiana business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →