Business School

Business School at Tulane University

Private university ยท New Orleans, Louisiana

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Tulane University is a private university with graduate business programs in New Orleans, Louisiana. Those programs run through the Freeman School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 5,118 students, alongside 7,767 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an online MBA format for remote or working students, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 1 of 5 schools in MBA Lab's Louisiana directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

New Orleans has 2 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Tulane University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Tulane University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Freeman School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside New Orleans first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionTulane University
Business schoolFreeman School of Business
Controlprivate
LocationNew Orleans, Louisiana
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment5,118
Undergraduate enrollment7,767
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Tulane University

Details below come from Tulane University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$100,800
  • Length 17 months
  • Credits 48
  • Delivery Hybrid
  • Meets Two weekends per month
What that price is12 modules at $8,400 each, paid at the end of each module; a $1,000 confirmation deposit is due on acceptance
On lengthLockstep, alternate-weekend format across 12 modules of about 7-8 weeks each
Class scheduleTwo weekends a month, with hybrid course options
Work experience7+ years required

Online MBA

Online MBA
$83,950
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 46
  • Delivery 100% Online
What that price is$1,825 per credit hour, general rate for Fall 2026 start, before the automatic 20% tuition scholarship all admitted Online MBA students receive (effective rate $1,460/credit, effective total $67,160). 46 credits x $1,825 = $83,950. Excludes a separate $100/credit Academic Support Fee.
On lengthAs little as two years; per-credit rate locked for the full two years.

Professional MBA

Part-Time MBA
$95,460
  • Credits 46
  • Delivery Hybrid — in-person weeknight classes with online options
  • Meets Two entry points per year — Fall and Spring
What that price isPublished as $47,730/year x standard 2-year completion = $95,460 total before scholarships (2026-27 rate). Merit scholarships (20% or 50%) are competitive, not automatic, so this is the general/sticker total.
On length2 to 4 years depending on pace (vs. the Full-Time MBA's fixed 21-month format); cost below based on standard 2-year pace.
Class scheduleWeeknight evening classes

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $109,759 Median of 45 graduates working one year after completion +26% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $124,014 Median of 49 graduates working four years after completion +13% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $83,281 Median across 31 borrowers entering repayment About 0.76x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 4 schools in MBA Lab's Louisiana business schools directory that report a figure, Tulane University ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Tulane University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Tulane University's context.

Compare with other schools in Louisiana

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Tulane University This page New Orleans Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $109,759
Loyola University New Orleans New Orleans (same city) Yes MBA Not reported
Louisiana State University Baton Rouge Yes MBA, Online MBA $98,275
Louisiana Tech University Ruston Yes MBA $64,038
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Lafayette Yes MBA, Online MBA $61,995

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Tulane University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA, an executive MBA, and a part-time MBA at Tulane University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at Tulane University cost?

Tulane University lists $100,800 for the Executive MBA. 12 modules at $8,400 each, paid at the end of each module; a $1,000 confirmation deposit is due on acceptance. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at Tulane University, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 17 months, requires 48 credits, and is delivered in a hybrid format. Lockstep, alternate-weekend format across 12 modules of about 7-8 weeks each. Classes meet: Two weekends a month, with hybrid course options Applicants need at least 7 years of work experience.

How much does the Online MBA at Tulane University cost?

Tulane University lists $83,950 for the Online MBA. $1,825 per credit hour, general rate for Fall 2026 start, before the automatic 20% tuition scholarship all admitted Online MBA students receive (effective rate $1,460/credit, effective total $67,160). 46 credits x $1,825 = $83,950. Excludes a separate $100/credit Academic Support Fee. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Tulane University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 24 months and requires 46 credits. As little as two years; per-credit rate locked for the full two years.

How much does the Professional MBA at Tulane University cost?

Tulane University lists $95,460 for the Professional MBA. Published as $47,730/year x standard 2-year completion = $95,460 total before scholarships (2026-27 rate). Merit scholarships (20% or 50%) are competitive, not automatic, so this is the general/sticker total. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Professional MBA at Tulane University, and when does it meet?

The Professional MBA requires 46 credits. 2 to 4 years depending on pace (vs. the Full-Time MBA's fixed 21-month format); cost below based on standard 2-year pace. Classes meet: Weeknight evening classes

What do graduates of Tulane University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $109,759 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Tulane University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $124,014. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Tulane University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $83,281 for business master's graduates at Tulane University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.76x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Tulane University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Tulane University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Tulane University a public or private institution?

Tulane University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in New Orleans, Louisiana. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Tulane University with other schools in Louisiana?

MBA Lab lists 5 schools in its Louisiana business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →