Business School

Business School at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Private institute ยท Cambridge, Massachusetts

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA

Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a private institute with graduate business programs in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Those programs run through the MIT Sloan School of Management. The institution is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 7,351 students, alongside 4,535 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals. That puts it among the 1 of 14 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Cambridge in this directory - the other 13 business school options in Massachusetts are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Massachusetts Institute of Technology

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Massachusetts Institute of Technology often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the MIT Sloan School of Management may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.

At a glance

InstitutionMassachusetts Institute of Technology
Business schoolMIT Sloan School of Management
Controlprivate
LocationCambridge, Massachusetts
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA
Graduate enrollment7,351
Undergraduate enrollment4,535
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNew England Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Details below come from Massachusetts Institute of Technology's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MIT Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$222,205
  • Length 20 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Every two to three weeks
What that price isTotal for the Class of 2028 matriculating September 2026, across five payment terms
Class schedule26 weekend sessions (every two to three weeks), all day Friday and Saturday
Work experience10+ years required

Compare with other schools in Massachusetts

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Massachusetts Institute of Technology This page Cambridge Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
Babson College Wellesley Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $145,036
Boston College Chestnut Hill Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,773
Boston University Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,558
Harvard University Boston Yes MBA $103,400
Northeastern University Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $64,718
University of Massachusetts Amherst Amherst Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $128,746
Bentley University Waltham Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,787
Brandeis University Waltham Yes MBA $89,111

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Massachusetts Institute of Technology offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MIT Executive MBA at Massachusetts Institute of Technology cost?

Massachusetts Institute of Technology lists $222,205 for the MIT Executive MBA. Total for the Class of 2028 matriculating September 2026, across five payment terms. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MIT Executive MBA at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and when does it meet?

The MIT Executive MBA takes about 20 months and is delivered in person. Classes meet: 26 weekend sessions (every two to three weeks), all day Friday and Saturday Applicants need at least 10 years of work experience.

Is Massachusetts Institute of Technology's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Massachusetts Institute of Technology appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Massachusetts Institute of Technology a public or private institution?

Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a private institute, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Cambridge, Massachusetts. It is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Massachusetts Institute of Technology with other schools in Massachusetts?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Massachusetts business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →