Business School

Business School at Northeastern University

Private university ยท Boston, Massachusetts

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Northeastern University is a private university with graduate business programs in Boston, Massachusetts. Those programs run through the D'Amore-McKim School of Business. The institution is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 15,121 students, alongside 17,326 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an online MBA format for remote or working students, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 5 of 14 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Boston has 5 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Northeastern University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Northeastern University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the D'Amore-McKim School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Boston first. With 5 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionNortheastern University
Business schoolD'Amore-McKim School of Business
Controlprivate
LocationBoston, Massachusetts
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment15,121
Undergraduate enrollment17,326
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNew England Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Northeastern University

Details below come from Northeastern University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Part-Time MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,931 per credit
  • Length 36 months
  • Delivery In person
What that price isStandard D'Amore-McKim graduate rate for 2026-2027
On length3 years on average; credit hours and tuition were not confirmed on the pages checked this pass (the Full-Time MBA is 55 credits, for comparison)
Class scheduleWeeknights starting at 5:20 or 7:30 p.m., on Northeastern's Boston campus; up to five courses can move online after core requirements are done
StartsFall, Spring

Online MBA

Online MBA
$45,000
  • Length 30 months
  • Credits 50
  • Delivery Fully online, asynchronous coursework with optional live weekly faculty connect sessions
  • Meets Rolling admissions; cohorts start Fall, Spring, and Summer
What that price is$900 per credit hour x 50 required credits (21 core + 29 elective) = $45,000 total, AY 2025-2026 published rate; flat rate, excludes fees.
On lengthMinimum 18 months; up to 7 years permitted; most students finish in about 2.5 years.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $64,718 Median of 90 graduates working one year after completion -26% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $84,704 Median of 123 graduates working four years after completion +31% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $34,778 Median across 76 borrowers entering repayment About 0.54x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts business schools directory that report a figure, Northeastern University ranks 11th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Northeastern University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Northeastern University's context.

Compare with other schools in Massachusetts

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Northeastern University This page Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $64,718
Boston University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,558
Harvard University Boston (same city) Yes MBA $103,400
Suffolk University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $88,668
University of Massachusetts Boston Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Babson College Wellesley Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $145,036
Boston College Chestnut Hill Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,773
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
University of Massachusetts Amherst Amherst Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $128,746
Bentley University Waltham Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,787
Brandeis University Waltham Yes MBA $89,111
Clark University Worcester Yes MBA $63,136
University of Massachusetts Lowell Lowell Yes MBA, Online MBA $95,192

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Northeastern University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA and a part-time MBA at Northeastern University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Part-Time MBA at Northeastern University cost?

Northeastern University lists $1,931 per credit for the Part-Time MBA. Standard D'Amore-McKim graduate rate for 2026-2027. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Part-Time MBA at Northeastern University, and when does it meet?

The Part-Time MBA takes about 36 months and is delivered in person. 3 years on average; credit hours and tuition were not confirmed on the pages checked this pass (the Full-Time MBA is 55 credits, for comparison). Classes meet: Weeknights starting at 5:20 or 7:30 p.m., on Northeastern's Boston campus; up to five courses can move online after core requirements are done

How much does the Online MBA at Northeastern University cost?

Northeastern University lists $45,000 for the Online MBA. $900 per credit hour x 50 required credits (21 core + 29 elective) = $45,000 total, AY 2025-2026 published rate; flat rate, excludes fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Northeastern University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 30 months and requires 50 credits. Minimum 18 months; up to 7 years permitted; most students finish in about 2.5 years.

What do graduates of Northeastern University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $64,718 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Northeastern University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $84,704. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Northeastern University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $34,778 for business master's graduates at Northeastern University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.54x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Northeastern University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Northeastern University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Northeastern University a public or private institution?

Northeastern University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Boston, Massachusetts. It is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Northeastern University with other schools in Massachusetts?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Massachusetts business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →