Business School

Business School at Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Private institute ยท Worcester, Massachusetts

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Worcester Polytechnic Institute is a private institute with graduate business programs in Worcester, Massachusetts. Those programs run through the The Business School. The institution is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,026 students, alongside 5,447 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. That puts it among the 5 of 14 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts directory listing an online MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Worcester has 2 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Worcester Polytechnic Institute

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Worcester Polytechnic Institute often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the The Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Worcester first. With 2 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionWorcester Polytechnic Institute
Business schoolThe Business School
Controlprivate
LocationWorcester, Massachusetts
Campus settingMidsize city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment2,026
Undergraduate enrollment5,447
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNew England Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Details below come from Worcester Polytechnic Institute's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$1,775 per credit
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$1,775 per credit hour (2026-2027 rate, up from $1,690 in 2025-26) - most courses are 3 credits
On lengthFully online, tech-focused, two years. Credit hours not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

4 concentrations

  • Analytics
  • Finance
  • Marketing
  • Operations

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $147,168 Median of 41 graduates working one year after completion +69% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $154,407 Median of 42 graduates working four years after completion +5% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts business schools directory that report a figure, Worcester Polytechnic Institute ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Worcester Polytechnic Institute's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Worcester Polytechnic Institute's context.

Compare with other schools in Massachusetts

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Worcester Polytechnic Institute This page Worcester Yes MBA, Online MBA $147,168
Clark University Worcester (same city) Yes MBA $63,136
Babson College Wellesley Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $145,036
Boston College Chestnut Hill Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,773
Boston University Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,558
Harvard University Boston Yes MBA $103,400
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
Northeastern University Boston Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $64,718
University of Massachusetts Amherst Amherst Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $128,746
Bentley University Waltham Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,787

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Worcester Polytechnic Institute offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Worcester Polytechnic Institute cost?

Worcester Polytechnic Institute lists $1,775 per credit for the Online MBA. $1,775 per credit hour (2026-2027 rate, up from $1,690 in 2025-26) - most courses are 3 credits. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered fully online. Fully online, tech-focused, two years. Credit hours not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

What do graduates of Worcester Polytechnic Institute's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $147,168 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Worcester Polytechnic Institute who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $154,407. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

Is Worcester Polytechnic Institute's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Worcester Polytechnic Institute appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Worcester Polytechnic Institute a public or private institution?

Worcester Polytechnic Institute is a private institute, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Worcester, Massachusetts. It is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Worcester Polytechnic Institute with other schools in Massachusetts?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Massachusetts business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →