MBA Program

MBA Program at Appalachian State University

Public university ยท Boone, North Carolina

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

Appalachian State University is a public university with graduate business programs in Boone, North Carolina. Those programs run through the Walker College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 12 of the 13 schools in MBA Lab's North Carolina directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,010 students, alongside 19,444 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Boone in this directory - the other 12 MBA program options in North Carolina are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Appalachian State University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Appalachian State University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Walker College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionAppalachian State University
Business schoolWalker College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationBoone, North Carolina
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (larger programs)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment2,010
Undergraduate enrollment19,444
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Appalachian State University

Details below come from Appalachian State University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
$569 per credit
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Online
What that price is$569 per credit hour for North Carolina residents; out-of-state rate not confirmed on the pages checked this pass
Estimated degree costAbout $20,484 at the resident rate for all 36 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthTwo classes per semester year-round, adjustable pace; blends synchronous and asynchronous online coursework. Requires at least one internationally focused elective.

2 concentrations

  • Interdisciplinary Business
  • Cybersecurity

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $72,310 Median of 69 graduates working one year after completion -17% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $94,138 Median of 75 graduates working four years after completion +30% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $27,533 Median across 49 borrowers entering repayment About 0.38x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's North Carolina MBA programs directory that report a figure, Appalachian State University ranks 11th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Appalachian State University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Appalachian State University's context.

Compare with other schools in North Carolina

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Appalachian State University This page Boone Yes MBA $72,310
Duke University Durham Yes MBA, Executive MBA $171,948
North Carolina State University Raleigh Yes MBA, Online MBA $113,700
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $156,818
East Carolina University Greenville Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,753
Elon University Elon Yes MBA $90,264
Fayetteville State University Fayetteville Yes MBA, Online MBA $68,138
High Point University High Point MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Queens University of Charlotte Charlotte Yes MBA $96,568

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Appalachian State University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Appalachian State University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How much does the MBA at Appalachian State University cost?

Appalachian State University lists $569 per credit for the MBA. $569 per credit hour for North Carolina residents; out-of-state rate not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Across all 36 credits that is roughly $20,484 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Appalachian State University, and when does it meet?

The MBA takes about 24 months, requires 36 credits, and is delivered fully online. Two classes per semester year-round, adjustable pace; blends synchronous and asynchronous online coursework. Requires at least one internationally focused elective.

What do graduates of Appalachian State University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $72,310 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Appalachian State University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $94,138. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Appalachian State University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $27,533 for business master's graduates at Appalachian State University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.38x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Appalachian State University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Appalachian State University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Appalachian State University a public or private institution?

Appalachian State University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Boone, North Carolina. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Appalachian State University with other schools in North Carolina?

MBA Lab lists 13 schools in its North Carolina MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →