MBA Program

MBA Program at Western Michigan University

Public university ยท Kalamazoo, Michigan

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

Western Michigan University is a public university with graduate business programs in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Those programs run through the Haworth College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 3,717 students, alongside 12,568 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Kalamazoo in this directory - the other 9 MBA program options in Michigan are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Western Michigan University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, Western Michigan University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Haworth College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionWestern Michigan University
Business schoolHaworth College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationKalamazoo, Michigan
Campus settingSmall city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment3,717
Undergraduate enrollment12,568
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Western Michigan University

Details below come from Western Michigan University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
$28,732
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Hybrid
What that price isReported at $834/credit in-state ($1,252 out-of-state), totaling $28,732 in-state ($43,097 out-of-state) - but WMU's own tuition-rate page is currently broken and redirects to a page that explicitly excludes the business school, and this figure traces to a source dated around Fall 2024, so it likely predates at least one annual increase. Confirm the current Haworth College of Business rate directly before relying on this figure.
On length12 courses (7 core + 5 electives); typically 18 months to 3 years depending on pace, up to 6 years for part-time professionals. HyFlex delivery lets students choose in-person, hybrid, or online each semester.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $83,229 Median of 89 graduates working one year after completion -5% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $96,045 Median of 86 graduates working four years after completion +15% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $43,731 Median across 44 borrowers entering repayment About 0.53x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Michigan MBA programs directory that report a figure, Western Michigan University ranks 5th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Western Michigan University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Western Michigan University's context.

Compare with other schools in Michigan

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Western Michigan University This page Kalamazoo Yes MBA $83,229
Michigan State University East Lansing Yes MBA, Executive MBA $117,756
University of Michigan Ann Arbor Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $160,286
Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Yes MBA, Online MBA $77,865
Eastern Michigan University Ypsilanti Yes MBA $77,265
Grand Valley State University Grand Rapids Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Michigan Technological University Houghton Yes MBA, Online MBA $67,821
Oakland University Rochester Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $91,379
University of Detroit Mercy Detroit Yes MBA $67,154

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Western Michigan University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Western Michigan University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How much does the MBA at Western Michigan University cost?

Western Michigan University lists $28,732 for the MBA. Reported at $834/credit in-state ($1,252 out-of-state), totaling $28,732 in-state ($43,097 out-of-state) - but WMU's own tuition-rate page is currently broken and redirects to a page that explicitly excludes the business school, and this figure traces to a source dated around Fall 2024, so it likely predates at least one annual increase. Confirm the current Haworth College of Business rate directly before relying on this figure. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Western Michigan University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 36 credits and is delivered in a hybrid format. 12 courses (7 core + 5 electives); typically 18 months to 3 years depending on pace, up to 6 years for part-time professionals. HyFlex delivery lets students choose in-person, hybrid, or online each semester.

What do graduates of Western Michigan University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $83,229 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Western Michigan University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $96,045. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Western Michigan University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $43,731 for business master's graduates at Western Michigan University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.53x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Western Michigan University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Western Michigan University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Western Michigan University a public or private institution?

Western Michigan University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Kalamazoo, Michigan. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Western Michigan University with other schools in Michigan?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Michigan MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →