Online MBA

Online MBA at Butler University

Private university ยท Indianapolis, Indiana

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Butler University is a private university with graduate business programs in Indianapolis, Indiana. Those programs run through the Andre B. Lacy School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 1,257 students, alongside 4,317 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Indianapolis in this directory - the other 4 online MBA options in Indiana are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Butler University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Butler University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Andre B. Lacy School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionButler University
Business schoolAndre B. Lacy School of Business
Controlprivate
LocationIndianapolis, Indiana
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (larger programs)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment1,257
Undergraduate enrollment4,317
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Butler University

Details below come from Butler University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Butler MBA

Online MBA
$37,000
  • Credits 38
  • Delivery Online or in person
What that price isApproximate total for the full degree
On length11 core courses, 3 electives. As little as two years, up to five allowed. Same tuition whether studied online, on campus, or hybrid.
Class scheduleAsynchronous and synchronous components; starts in January, May, or August

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $111,570 Median of 33 graduates working one year after completion +28% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $125,011 Median of 32 graduates working four years after completion +12% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path

Among the 3 schools in MBA Lab's Indiana online MBA programs directory that report a figure, Butler University ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Butler University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Butler University's context.

Compare with other schools in Indiana

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Butler University This page Indianapolis Yes MBA, Online MBA $111,570
Indiana University Bloomington Bloomington Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Purdue University West Lafayette Yes MBA, Online MBA $103,280
Ball State University Muncie Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Indiana State University Terre Haute Yes MBA, Online MBA $72,402

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Butler University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Butler University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Butler MBA at Butler University cost?

Butler University lists $37,000 for the Butler MBA. Approximate total for the full degree. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Butler MBA at Butler University, and when does it meet?

The Butler MBA requires 38 credits and is delivered either fully online or in person. 11 core courses, 3 electives. As little as two years, up to five allowed. Same tuition whether studied online, on campus, or hybrid. Classes meet: Asynchronous and synchronous components; starts in January, May, or August

What do graduates of Butler University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $111,570 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Butler University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $125,011. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

Is Butler University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Butler University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Butler University a public or private institution?

Butler University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Indianapolis, Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Butler University with other schools in Indiana?

MBA Lab lists 5 schools in its Indiana online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →