Online MBA

Online MBA at George Mason University

Public university ยท Fairfax, Virginia

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

George Mason University is a public university with graduate business programs in Fairfax, Virginia. Those programs run through the Costello College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 13 of the 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 11,432 students, alongside 27,752 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an online MBA format for remote or working students, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 7 of 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Fairfax in this directory - the other 13 online MBA options in Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask George Mason University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, George Mason University may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Costello College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionGeorge Mason University
Business schoolCostello College of Business
Controlpublic
LocationFairfax, Virginia
Campus settingLarge suburb
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment11,432
Undergraduate enrollment27,752
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at George Mason University

Details below come from George Mason University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$53,064
  • Credits 48
  • Delivery 100% online, asynchronous
  • Meets Rolling admission with Fall, Spring, and Summer starts
What that price is2025-26 published per-credit rate is $1,105.50 (identical in-state/out-of-state), confirmed on both the MasonOnline page and GMU's official Tuition & Fee Rates Per Credit schedule. Total = 48 credits x $1,105.50. A separate $35/credit Distance Learning Fee applies on top and is not included above.
On lengthAs little as 16 months, up to 3 years depending on pace.

Costello Flex MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,025-$1,400 per credit
  • Credits 48
  • Delivery Online or in person
  • GMAT/GRE Optional
What that price is$1,025/credit in-state (VA/MD/DC), $1,400/credit out-of-state, plus a $169/credit mandatory student fee (2026-27). A separate, fully-online GMU MBA (masononline.gmu.edu) is priced differently at a flat $1,194/credit - don't conflate the two.
Estimated degree costAbout $49,200 at the resident rate for all 48 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthSixteen courses - ten core, five electives, one global selective. As few as 16-20 months at a full load, or up to four years at a flexible pace.
Class scheduleFully online and asynchronous, or in-person evening classes at the Fairfax and Arlington campuses
Residencies and travelOne global selective course. Mason names no formal concentrations - you specialize through electives, optionally stacking a graduate certificate (business analytics, government contract management, human capital and HR management, information security management, marketing, or affordable housing) alongside the degree.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $112,723 Median of 172 graduates working one year after completion +29% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $134,691 Median of 179 graduates working four years after completion +19% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $38,186 Median across 105 borrowers entering repayment About 0.34x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 11 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia online MBA programs directory that report a figure, George Mason University ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check George Mason University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with George Mason University's context.

Compare with other schools in Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
George Mason University This page Fairfax Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,723
Liberty University Lynchburg MBA, Online MBA $71,483
William & Mary Williamsburg Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,269
Hampton University Hampton MBA, Online MBA $80,981
James Madison University Harrisonburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $110,442
Longwood University Farmville Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Old Dominion University Norfolk Yes MBA, Online MBA $87,317
Radford University Radford Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Regent University Virginia Beach MBA, Online MBA $66,158

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does George Mason University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA and a part-time MBA at George Mason University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at George Mason University cost?

George Mason University lists $53,064 for the Online MBA. 2025-26 published per-credit rate is $1,105.50 (identical in-state/out-of-state), confirmed on both the MasonOnline page and GMU's official Tuition & Fee Rates Per Credit schedule. Total = 48 credits x $1,105.50. A separate $35/credit Distance Learning Fee applies on top and is not included above. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at George Mason University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA requires 48 credits. As little as 16 months, up to 3 years depending on pace.

How much does the Costello Flex MBA at George Mason University cost?

George Mason University lists $1,025-$1,400 per credit for the Costello Flex MBA. $1,025/credit in-state (VA/MD/DC), $1,400/credit out-of-state, plus a $169/credit mandatory student fee (2026-27). A separate, fully-online GMU MBA (masononline.gmu.edu) is priced differently at a flat $1,194/credit - don't conflate the two. Across all 48 credits that is roughly $49,200 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Costello Flex MBA at George Mason University, and when does it meet?

The Costello Flex MBA requires 48 credits and is delivered either fully online or in person. Sixteen courses - ten core, five electives, one global selective. As few as 16-20 months at a full load, or up to four years at a flexible pace. Classes meet: Fully online and asynchronous, or in-person evening classes at the Fairfax and Arlington campuses GMAT or GRE: Optional.

What do graduates of George Mason University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $112,723 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at George Mason University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $134,691. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at George Mason University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $38,186 for business master's graduates at George Mason University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.34x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is George Mason University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - George Mason University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is George Mason University a public or private institution?

George Mason University is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Fairfax, Virginia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare George Mason University with other schools in Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Virginia online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →