Business School

Business School at Duquesne University

Private university ยท Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Duquesne University is a private university with graduate business programs in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Those programs run through the Palumbo-Donahue School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 16 of the 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,863 students, alongside 5,350 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 7 of 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Pittsburgh has 3 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Duquesne University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Duquesne University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Palumbo-Donahue School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Pittsburgh first. With 3 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionDuquesne University
Business schoolPalumbo-Donahue School of Business
Controlprivate
LocationPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, high research activity (R2)
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment2,863
Undergraduate enrollment5,350
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Duquesne University

Details below come from Duquesne University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Flex MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,379 per credit
  • Credits 33
  • Delivery Online or in person
What that price is$1,379 per credit (2026-2027 standard rate); a discounted $1,172/credit rate applies with the Corporate & Community Partnership discount
Estimated degree costAbout $45,507 at the resident rate for all 33 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthRecently redesigned; all courses available online and in hybrid formats. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $75,618 Median of 113 graduates working one year after completion -13% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $109,445 Median of 150 graduates working four years after completion +45% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $40,750 Median across 64 borrowers entering repayment About 0.54x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 14 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania business schools directory that report a figure, Duquesne University ranks 12th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Duquesne University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Duquesne University's context.

Compare with other schools in Pennsylvania

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Duquesne University This page Pittsburgh Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $75,618
Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA $165,798
University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Penn State University University Park Yes MBA, Online MBA $106,923
Temple University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA $129,690
University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA $210,400
Drexel University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,936
La Salle University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,672
Lehigh University Bethlehem Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,962
Robert Morris University Moon Township Yes MBA, Online MBA $75,409
Saint Joseph's University Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Duquesne University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at Duquesne University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Flex MBA at Duquesne University cost?

Duquesne University lists $1,379 per credit for the Flex MBA. $1,379 per credit (2026-2027 standard rate); a discounted $1,172/credit rate applies with the Corporate & Community Partnership discount. Across all 33 credits that is roughly $45,507 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Flex MBA at Duquesne University, and when does it meet?

The Flex MBA requires 33 credits and is delivered either fully online or in person. Recently redesigned; all courses available online and in hybrid formats. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

What do graduates of Duquesne University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $75,618 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Duquesne University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $109,445. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Duquesne University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $40,750 for business master's graduates at Duquesne University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.54x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Duquesne University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Duquesne University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Duquesne University a public or private institution?

Duquesne University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Duquesne University with other schools in Pennsylvania?

MBA Lab lists 17 schools in its Pennsylvania business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →