Business School

Business School at University of Pennsylvania

Private university ยท Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA

University of Pennsylvania is a private university with graduate business programs in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Those programs run through the Wharton School. The institution is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 16 of the 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 17,631 students, alongside 10,650 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals. That puts it among the 6 of 17 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Philadelphia has 5 schools in MBA Lab's business schools directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask University of Pennsylvania

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like University of Pennsylvania often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Wharton School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Philadelphia first. With 5 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Pennsylvania
Business schoolWharton School
Controlprivate
LocationPhiladelphia, Pennsylvania
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA
Graduate enrollment17,631
Undergraduate enrollment10,650
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Pennsylvania

Details below come from University of Pennsylvania's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA Program for Executives

Executive MBA
$243,000 2026-27
  • Length 22 months
  • Credits 19
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Alternate weekends
What that price isProgram total for the class entering 2026, billed at $40,500 per academic term. Covers tuition and student fees (student support, co-curricular activities, facilities/technology, university fees).
On lengthSame Wharton MBA earned by full-time students, offered in Philadelphia, San Francisco, or a newer Global cohort
Class scheduleAlternate Friday/Saturday weekends, with some three-day weekends, plus an orientation and starting class session in Philadelphia

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $210,400 Median of 381 graduates working one year after completion +141% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $272,321 Median of 356 graduates working four years after completion +29% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $41,420 Median across 258 borrowers entering repayment About 0.20x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 14 schools in MBA Lab's Pennsylvania business schools directory that report a figure, University of Pennsylvania ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Pennsylvania's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Pennsylvania's context.

Compare with other schools in Pennsylvania

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Pennsylvania This page Philadelphia Yes MBA, Executive MBA $210,400
Drexel University Philadelphia (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,936
La Salle University Philadelphia (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $94,672
Saint Joseph's University Philadelphia (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
Temple University Philadelphia (same city) Yes MBA, Executive MBA $129,690
Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh Yes MBA, Online MBA $165,798
Penn State University University Park Yes MBA, Online MBA $106,923
University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Duquesne University Pittsburgh Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $75,618
Lehigh University Bethlehem Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,962
Robert Morris University Moon Township Yes MBA, Online MBA $75,409
Shippensburg University Shippensburg Yes MBA $84,476
University of Scranton Scranton Yes MBA, Online MBA $105,104

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Pennsylvania offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA at University of Pennsylvania, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA Program for Executives at University of Pennsylvania cost?

University of Pennsylvania lists $243,000 for the MBA Program for Executives. Program total for the class entering 2026, billed at $40,500 per academic term. Covers tuition and student fees (student support, co-curricular activities, facilities/technology, university fees). Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA Program for Executives at University of Pennsylvania, and when does it meet?

The MBA Program for Executives takes about 22 months, requires 19 credits, and is delivered in person. Same Wharton MBA earned by full-time students, offered in Philadelphia, San Francisco, or a newer Global cohort. Classes meet: Alternate Friday/Saturday weekends, with some three-day weekends, plus an orientation and starting class session in Philadelphia

What do graduates of University of Pennsylvania's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $210,400 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Pennsylvania who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $272,321. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Pennsylvania?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $41,420 for business master's graduates at University of Pennsylvania. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.20x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Pennsylvania's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Pennsylvania appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Pennsylvania a public or private institution?

University of Pennsylvania is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare University of Pennsylvania with other schools in Pennsylvania?

MBA Lab lists 17 schools in its Pennsylvania business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →