Business School

Business School at Pacific Lutheran University

Private university ยท Tacoma, Washington

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA

Pacific Lutheran University is a private university with graduate business programs in Tacoma, Washington. Those programs run through the School of Business. The institution is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 9 of the 10 schools in MBA Lab's Washington directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 351 students, alongside 2,401 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Tacoma in this directory - the other 9 business school options in Washington are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Pacific Lutheran University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Pacific Lutheran University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the School of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionPacific Lutheran University
Business schoolSchool of Business
Controlprivate
LocationTacoma, Washington
Campus settingLarge suburb
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (medium programs)
MBA formats listed MBA
Graduate enrollment351
Undergraduate enrollment2,401
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Pacific Lutheran University

Details below come from Pacific Lutheran University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

MBA
$52,380
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery In person
What that price is$1,455 per credit hour for the 2026-27 academic year, totaling $52,380 for the 36-credit program
On lengthThree flexible timeline options: 9, 16, or 21 months; late afternoon and evening classes. A STEM-designated MBA in Management Science and Quantitative Methods (MSQM) variant is also offered, along with optional concentrations in Artificial Intelligence, Business Analytics, Cybersecurity Management, Healthcare Administration, or Finance. Total credit hours and tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $58,626 Median of 41 graduates working one year after completion -33% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $100,684 Median of 42 graduates working four years after completion +72% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $39,150 Median across 31 borrowers entering repayment About 0.67x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 9 schools in MBA Lab's Washington business schools directory that report a figure, Pacific Lutheran University ranks 9th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Pacific Lutheran University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Pacific Lutheran University's context.

Compare with other schools in Washington

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Pacific Lutheran University This page Tacoma Yes MBA $58,626
University of Washington Seattle Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $149,800
Washington State University Pullman Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA $125,114
City University of Seattle Seattle MBA, Online MBA $89,182
Eastern Washington University Cheney Yes MBA, Online MBA $62,301
Gonzaga University Spokane Yes MBA, Online MBA $92,105
Seattle Pacific University Seattle Yes Not reported
Seattle University Seattle Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $104,093
Western Washington University Bellingham Yes MBA $75,467

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Pacific Lutheran University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an MBA path at Pacific Lutheran University. Check the school's official site for current formats such as online, evening, or executive options.

How much does the MBA at Pacific Lutheran University cost?

Pacific Lutheran University lists $52,380 for the MBA. $1,455 per credit hour for the 2026-27 academic year, totaling $52,380 for the 36-credit program. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Pacific Lutheran University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 36 credits and is delivered in person. Three flexible timeline options: 9, 16, or 21 months; late afternoon and evening classes. A STEM-designated MBA in Management Science and Quantitative Methods (MSQM) variant is also offered, along with optional concentrations in Artificial Intelligence, Business Analytics, Cybersecurity Management, Healthcare Administration, or Finance. Total credit hours and tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.

What do graduates of Pacific Lutheran University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $58,626 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Pacific Lutheran University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $100,684. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Pacific Lutheran University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $39,150 for business master's graduates at Pacific Lutheran University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.67x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Pacific Lutheran University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Pacific Lutheran University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Pacific Lutheran University a public or private institution?

Pacific Lutheran University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Tacoma, Washington. It is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

How do I compare Pacific Lutheran University with other schools in Washington?

MBA Lab lists 10 schools in its Washington business schools directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →