MBA Program

MBA Program at Suffolk University

Private university ยท Boston, Massachusetts

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Suffolk University is a private university with graduate business programs in Boston, Massachusetts. Those programs run through the Sawyer Business School. The institution is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 2,030 students, alongside 4,268 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 8 of 14 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts directory listing a part-time MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

Boston has 5 schools in MBA Lab's MBA programs directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Suffolk University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Suffolk University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Sawyer Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside Boston first. With 5 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionSuffolk University
Business schoolSawyer Business School
Controlprivate
LocationBoston, Massachusetts
Campus settingLarge city
Carnegie classDoctoral university
MBA formats listed MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment2,030
Undergraduate enrollment4,268
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationNew England Commission on Higher Education
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Suffolk University

Details below come from Suffolk University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Part-Time MBA
$1,970 per credit 2026-27
  • Credits 36
  • Delivery Online or in person
What that price isPer credit hour, same rate across MBA, MBA/Health, and MBA/Non-profit tracks
Estimated degree costAbout $70,920 at the resident rate for all 36 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthUnder a year full-time; part-time status is defined as 1-11 credits per semester, extending completion accordingly. Exact per-credit tuition not confirmed on the pages checked this pass.
Class scheduleFull-time, part-time, online, Saturday, and summer course options

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $88,668 Median of 106 graduates working one year after completion +2% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $125,542 Median of 113 graduates working four years after completion +42% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $42,540 Median across 68 borrowers entering repayment About 0.48x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 12 schools in MBA Lab's Massachusetts MBA programs directory that report a figure, Suffolk University ranks 10th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Suffolk University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Suffolk University's context.

Compare with other schools in Massachusetts

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Suffolk University This page Boston Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $88,668
Boston University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $110,558
Harvard University Boston (same city) Yes MBA $103,400
Northeastern University Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $64,718
University of Massachusetts Boston Boston (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported
Babson College Wellesley Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $145,036
Boston College Chestnut Hill Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $114,773
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge Yes MBA, Executive MBA Not reported
University of Massachusetts Amherst Amherst Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $128,746
Bentley University Waltham Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $117,787
Brandeis University Waltham Yes MBA $89,111
Clark University Worcester Yes MBA $63,136
University of Massachusetts Lowell Lowell Yes MBA, Online MBA $95,192

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Suffolk University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists a part-time MBA at Suffolk University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at Suffolk University cost?

Suffolk University lists $1,970 per credit for the MBA. Per credit hour, same rate across MBA, MBA/Health, and MBA/Non-profit tracks. Across all 36 credits that is roughly $70,920 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at Suffolk University, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 36 credits and is delivered either fully online or in person. Under a year full-time; part-time status is defined as 1-11 credits per semester, extending completion accordingly. Exact per-credit tuition not confirmed on the pages checked this pass. Classes meet: Full-time, part-time, online, Saturday, and summer course options

What do graduates of Suffolk University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $88,668 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Suffolk University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $125,542. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Suffolk University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $42,540 for business master's graduates at Suffolk University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.48x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Suffolk University's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Suffolk University appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Suffolk University a public or private institution?

Suffolk University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Boston, Massachusetts. It is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.

How do I compare Suffolk University with other schools in Massachusetts?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Massachusetts MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →