MBA Program

MBA Program at Washington University in St. Louis

Private university ยท St. Louis, Missouri

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Executive MBA
  • Part-Time MBA

Washington University in St. Louis is a private university with graduate business programs in St. Louis, Missouri. Those programs run through the Olin Business School. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 6 of the 7 schools in MBA Lab's Missouri directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 8,137 students, alongside 7,857 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path, an executive MBA (EMBA) format designed for experienced professionals, and a part-time or evening MBA format for students who keep working. That puts it among the 2 of 7 schools in MBA Lab's Missouri directory listing an executive MBA. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

St. Louis has 3 schools in MBA Lab's MBA programs directory, so it's worth comparing options in the same market before deciding - commute, employer partnerships, and evening scheduling often separate schools that look similar on paper.

What to ask Washington University in St. Louis

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Washington University in St. Louis often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • Cohort experience level. An EMBA's value is largely the room. Ask for the average years of work experience, the seniority mix, and how many classmates are employer-sponsored - a cohort of directors and a cohort of five-years-in analysts are different products at the same price.
  • Pace flexibility. Ask how long students typically take, whether you can drop to one class during a heavy work quarter without penalty, and how late evening sections actually run against your commute from work.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the Olin Business School may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Compare inside St. Louis first. With 3 schools in this directory in the same city, you can often visit or attend information sessions at all of them in a single week - the fastest way to tell apart programs whose websites read identically.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionWashington University in St. Louis
Business schoolOlin Business School
Controlprivate
LocationSt. Louis, Missouri
Campus settingLarge suburb
Carnegie classDoctoral university, very high research activity (R1)
MBA formats listed MBA Executive MBA Part-Time MBA
Graduate enrollment8,137
Undergraduate enrollment7,857
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationHigher Learning Commission
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Washington University in St. Louis

Details below come from Washington University in St. Louis's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Executive MBA

Executive MBA
$149,500
  • Length 24 months
  • Delivery In person
  • Meets Three days per month
What that price isTotal for the August 2026-May 2028 cohort: tuition $133,970 plus program fees and course materials $15,530, flat rate for a five-semester program
On lengthBegins with a week-long orientation. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass - contact Olin admissions directly.
Class scheduleThree days of classroom time per month

Flex MBA

Part-Time MBA
$81,600
  • Length 24 months
  • Credits 48
  • Delivery Hybrid — student chooses online or on-campus format each semester; live class sessions at set times either way; taught by the same faculty as the Full-Time MBA
  • Meets Cohort-based; starts Fall or Spring
What that price is$1,700 per credit hour x 48 credits = $81,600 total estimated program tuition, per WashU Olin's 2026-27 published rate; flat rate, no distinction by residency. A separate $300/semester program fee applies on top.
On lengthStandard 2-year pace; can be decelerated/extended.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $130,529 Median of 264 graduates working one year after completion +50% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $153,933 Median of 280 graduates working four years after completion +18% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $81,700 Median across 199 borrowers entering repayment About 0.63x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 5 schools in MBA Lab's Missouri MBA programs directory that report a figure, Washington University in St. Louis ranks 1st by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Washington University in St. Louis's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Washington University in St. Louis's context.

Compare with other schools in Missouri

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Washington University in St. Louis This page St. Louis Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $130,529
Saint Louis University St. Louis (same city) Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $81,612
Webster University St. Louis (same city) MBA, Online MBA $76,602
University of Missouri Columbia Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Missouri State University Springfield Yes MBA, Online MBA $70,717
Rockhurst University Kansas City Yes MBA, Part-Time MBA $73,511
University of Missouri-Kansas City Kansas City Yes MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Washington University in St. Louis offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an executive MBA and a part-time MBA at Washington University in St. Louis, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Executive MBA at Washington University in St. Louis cost?

Washington University in St. Louis lists $149,500 for the Executive MBA. Total for the August 2026-May 2028 cohort: tuition $133,970 plus program fees and course materials $15,530, flat rate for a five-semester program. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Executive MBA at Washington University in St. Louis, and when does it meet?

The Executive MBA takes about 24 months and is delivered in person. Begins with a week-long orientation. Tuition figure not confirmed on the pages checked this pass - contact Olin admissions directly. Classes meet: Three days of classroom time per month

How much does the Flex MBA at Washington University in St. Louis cost?

Washington University in St. Louis lists $81,600 for the Flex MBA. $1,700 per credit hour x 48 credits = $81,600 total estimated program tuition, per WashU Olin's 2026-27 published rate; flat rate, no distinction by residency. A separate $300/semester program fee applies on top. Checked against the school's own page on July 27, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Flex MBA at Washington University in St. Louis, and when does it meet?

The Flex MBA takes about 24 months and requires 48 credits. Standard 2-year pace; can be decelerated/extended.

What do graduates of Washington University in St. Louis's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $130,529 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Washington University in St. Louis who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $153,933. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Washington University in St. Louis?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $81,700 for business master's graduates at Washington University in St. Louis. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.63x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Washington University in St. Louis's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - Washington University in St. Louis appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is Washington University in St. Louis a public or private institution?

Washington University in St. Louis is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in St. Louis, Missouri. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

How do I compare Washington University in St. Louis with other schools in Missouri?

MBA Lab lists 7 schools in its Missouri MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →